UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29th Jul 2022, 10:22 am   #21
Davecru
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 13
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

When it arrives in the next five years I will let you know what it's like.
Chances are it will not do the job but for less than a pint it was worth a gamble.
Davecru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2022, 9:14 pm   #22
Oldcodger
Nonode
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 2,085
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

Something us older Tele comms blokes ( especially those of us who served in Gods Poor Orphans) forget is that a telephone seems a maze of wires etc. But it's a logical maze. We learnt the mysteries at places like Muirhouse/ Chortlon cum hardy and Stone. But to someone new to the innards of a telephone, may I recommend a google for "SAM HALLAS" with reference to N diagrams. These diagrams gave an idiots guide to the wiring of Telephone instruments. The apprentice bible in the old days. First you have to identify the tele by GPO number. You say yours is a 232. To find the N diagram, add 100 to the model number ( how many ex GPO blokes remember this old saying?) ,then look in the N DIAGRAM list for N Diagram 332.
Oldcodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Jul 2022, 8:40 pm   #23
Davecru
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 13
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

Thanks will keep that in mind with my future excursions
Davecru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2022, 7:29 pm   #24
Davecru
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 13
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

So the "bell" extension box arrived from China. You guessed it inside was a semiconductor buzzer (piezo?) not a bell.
No fitting that in a 232 but it has a line in and the a phone out so in the short term could work although it sounds hideous.
Ho Hum the quest for a bell or bellset shall commence.
Thanks again for the help guys
Davecru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2022, 8:01 pm   #25
pip5678
Pentode
 
pip5678's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 126
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

Is this the sort of thing required? It was inside a 200 series telephone I once restored. Rings okay on AC and measures 3.3KΩ DC resistance, the gong can be moved around a bit to make best ringing sound but it won't wake the dead! PM if interested.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4673.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	262208  
pip5678 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2022, 8:06 pm   #26
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 5,809
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

That's certainly what I was trying to find for the OP.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Aug 2022, 8:35 pm   #27
Davecru
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 13
Default Re: GPO 232 won't dial.

Thanks guys PM sent.
Davecru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 8:05 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.