UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Sep 2006, 4:39 pm   #1
Kat Manton
Octode
 
Kat Manton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,701
Default Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector wanted

Hi,

The set in question is a late fifties Dynatron TV30CK, using an Ekco chassis so I presume Ekco sets used the same connector.

It looked at first glance (in the dark while it was being loaded into a car) like a 5A 2-pin plug but on closer inspection turned out to have different size pins.

The larger pin and the spacing between them is similar to 5A 2-pin, though.

Anyone got a line socket to fit this knocking around in their junk box? It'd beat croc-clips and bits of rubber tube... (Only joking...)

I've never seen one but I believe they're designed so the connector must be removed before the back can be taken off, so I'm guessing it has a flange.

Regards, Kat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Dynatron-mains.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	5527  
__________________
Voider of Warranties.
Kat Manton is offline  
Old 19th Sep 2006, 5:16 pm   #2
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,238
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kat Manton View Post
It looked at first glance (in the dark while it was being loaded into a car) like a 5A 2-pin plug but on closer inspection turned out to have different size pins.

The larger pin and the spacing between them is similar to 5A 2-pin, though.
Are they sufficiently similar to use a 5A 2-pin socket with a collar inserted into one hole to bring it down to the size of the thinner pin?
Dave Moll is online now  
Old 19th Sep 2006, 5:45 pm   #3
jim_beacon
Heptode
 
jim_beacon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bishop's Waltham, Hants, UK.
Posts: 939
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Hi Kat,

they were also used on a lot of Pye and Eddystone professional kit in the 60's - not much help, but it may help you to find one elsewhere (I only have one, it gets cycled around several sets).

Jim.
__________________
Jim Beacon G1JBG
www.g1jbg.co.uk
jim_beacon is offline  
Old 19th Sep 2006, 6:02 pm   #4
Kat Manton
Octode
 
Kat Manton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Hi Andy,

Quote:
Originally Posted by beery View Post
if you can get a Bulgin branded 5A connector...
...like this one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bulgin-5A.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	5528  
__________________
Voider of Warranties.
Kat Manton is offline  
Old 19th Sep 2006, 8:39 pm   #5
Mikey405
Octode
 
Mikey405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Solihull, West Midlands and Beaford, Devon
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Hi Kat.

I think I may have a spare one of these weird plugs (sockets?). Send me a PM with a mailing address and I'll go and have a poke around in my loft.

Thanks Kat.

From Mike.
Mikey405 is offline  
Old 20th Sep 2006, 5:33 pm   #6
Mikey405
Octode
 
Mikey405's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Solihull, West Midlands and Beaford, Devon
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Hi Kat.

I posted you a plug (socket?) at lunch time today, so you should get it tomorrow courtesy of our excellent Royal Mail.

Bye Kat.

Mike.
Mikey405 is offline  
Old 20th Sep 2006, 6:24 pm   #7
Kat Manton
Octode
 
Kat Manton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: Dynatron (Ekco?) Mains Connector Wanted

Hi,
It looks like Mike's come up with a complete connector; since these seem tricky to get maybe someone else has a greater need than I...
Thanks very much

(Hmm... 'socket', I think... line socket to be precise; to me sockets have 'oles and plugs have pins. )

I'm currently cleaning up the TV chassis prior to a capacitor replacement session; being able to connect mains will doubtless spur me on.

Cheers, Kat
__________________
Voider of Warranties.
Kat Manton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:51 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.