UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 4th Oct 2014, 8:53 am   #1
Girish_Athani
Retired Dormant Member

Default Help me identify the model

Dear People,

My name is Girish from India and I am a complete newbe to the world of vintage radios. Recently I got hold of my grandfathers very old Murphy radio which was lying in store room for 10 years after my grandfather death but in a very bad shape. Cabinet is completely gone which I intend to make a completely new one.
I am determined to restore this one completely come what may due to emotional reasons.
I need the advice of all you expert guys out there in identifying the model number of this Murphy radio and if any one has schematic diagram for this that would be great help.
This radio was brought in India I guess but inside it says Made In England. Have a couple of questions regarding this. Request all experts to answer these and help me take forward the restoration of this.

1. Please let me know the model number of this. Looks like A242 but I am not sure.
2. The wax capacitors (Orange ones in pic) are in a very bad shape eaten by mostly rats. They are marked TCC 0.01 mfd and 0.05 mfd. With what type of capacitors I can replace these.
3. Any advice you guys want to give me after seeing the pics attached.

Pls look at the pics and advice me.

Thanks a ton
Girish
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Murphy2.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	98321   Click image for larger version

Name:	Murphy3.jpg
Views:	221
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	98322   Click image for larger version

Name:	Murphy7.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	98323   Click image for larger version

Name:	Murphy6.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	28.8 KB