UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28th Jul 2018, 5:37 pm   #1
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Purchasing an Aurora

I'm after a 405 line aurora and sent an email to Crowthorne Tubes last Tuesday from the email link in https://www.crowthornetubes.co.uk/ to enquire but not yet received a response. I see a cached message in google with 'LATEST AURORA STOCK. 4 IN STOCK on MAY 1ST 2018.....' so I'm probably being impatient and Gerry will get back to me? Has anyone recently had contact with Gerry?

Thanks in advance. I'm Just determined to get a picture on my KB telly once I have solved the no raster problem!
__________________
Dom
BVWS member
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2018, 7:06 pm   #2
Richard_FM
Hexode
 
Richard_FM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Stockport, Cheshire, UK.
Posts: 371
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

I did see one on eBay recently, but it doesn't seem to be on sale now.
Richard_FM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2018, 7:23 pm   #3
peter_scott
Octode
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexton_mallard View Post
I'm Just determined to get a picture on my KB telly once I have solved the no raster problem!
How determined are you?

This method is much cheaper than a standards converter but you would need to build a modulator.

Peter
peter_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2018, 9:35 pm   #4
sortedradio
Pentode
 
sortedradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 112
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Hi Dom,
Gerry has some stock coming to the UK around 3rd August. I had an email from him on 20th July saying there were 3 left, of which I ordered one. Hopefully that means he will have two left in stock!
__________________
Martin
BVWS member
GQRP Club
sortedradio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2018, 6:31 pm   #5
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Thanks Martin. Gerry has responded and hopefully I should be able to order one soon.
__________________
Dom
BVWS member

Last edited by sexton_mallard; 9th Aug 2018 at 6:32 pm. Reason: typo
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2018, 12:51 pm   #6
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

My Aurora arrived today
__________________
Dom
BVWS member
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2018, 1:30 pm   #7
Sideband
Dekatron
 
Sideband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Croydon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 4,863
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

That's it then! The number of 405 TV's will now increase slowly (or quickly perhaps depending on availability of the necessary funding....). You won't regret buying one of these little wonder-boxes. Beware the RF output is quite high and some earlier sets might overload. You'll just need a 6db attenuator.
__________________
'And, in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make'
The Beatles.
Sideband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Aug 2018, 2:37 pm   #8
sortedradio
Pentode
 
sortedradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 112
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

I've had mine a couple of weeks now and all I've managed to do is make up a F plug to coax cable! I have 3 405 line sets to tackle, a Murphy V310, a Pye BV20 and an Ambassador TV15CR. I'm not sure which one I will start with, although I have treated the Pye for woodworm so that's a start I suppose. I'm really looking forward to trying the Aurora but time is my enemy at the moment, and I've got to go on holiday next week..........
__________________
Martin
BVWS member
GQRP Club
sortedradio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2018, 12:12 pm   #9
backintime
Triode
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 26
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Hi Martin, I'm keen to get one! I couldn't find the price though - how much did it cost you?
backintime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Aug 2018, 12:31 pm   #10
Paul Stenning
Administrator
 
Paul Stenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 6,980
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

https://www.crowthornetubes.co.uk/ and scroll down, 200 + delivery.
__________________

Paul Stenning
Forum Admin/Owner and BVWS Committee Member
Paul Stenning is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2018, 11:59 pm   #11
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Now up and running! Using my Sony 9-9UB switched to 405 with the aurora connected to a HDMI2AV converter and have been using it as a second monitor from the HDMI output of a laptop. I have yet to make a transformer, I merely wound 2 foot of wire around the telescopic aerial and got a reasonable picture.

I even got a fuzzy picture via the telescopic aerial in another room! The HDMI2AV converter has to be run from a external power source when connected to a HDMI freeview tuner, the hash from the wall-wart broke through the sound. I could read text on the TV screen and sound quality is surprisingly good. The set's tube is a bit tired but not bad for a almost 50 year old set which had probably never had the back off. Now to get back to that KB telly which refuses to give me a raster!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20180818_008.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	51.7 KB
ID:	167801   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20180818_007.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	167802  
__________________
Dom
BVWS member

Last edited by sexton_mallard; 19th Aug 2018 at 12:06 am.
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2018, 11:26 pm   #12
winston_1
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 227
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Those sets have an external aerial socket on a 3.5mm jack plug. No need to wrap wire round the telescopic rod.
winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2018, 7:59 am   #13
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Rather than just tell you what you should have done rather than "what you have done" I thought I'd actually comment on the picture quality that the little HDMI2AV box is producing. I think that is a great little box of tricks and for so little money I have just gone and bought one myself!!


Looks good.


Cheers
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th Aug 2018, 5:44 pm   #14
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Thanks Lee. I only lashed this together quickly to see the Aurora work. I used the telescopic aerial with the wire only because I have not rigged an isolation transformer yet. 16:9 to 4:3 aspect conversion might be a problem with the HDMI2AVI via the PC, but I just corrected that with the display driver software. The wall wart powering the HDMI2AVI when connected to the freeview tuner that I used was putting a mains hum on sound but when it was powered via the PC HDMI port the sound quality was really good.
__________________
Dom
BVWS member

Last edited by sexton_mallard; 30th Aug 2018 at 5:51 pm.
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Aug 2018, 6:02 pm   #15
radiograham
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 60
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Quote:
Originally Posted by sexton_mallard View Post
Now to get back to that KB telly which refuses to give me a raster!
Hi Is that the KB I sold you the Lopt for, how are you going on with it? was the old one us, also can I ask where did you buy the HDMI 12AV from. Regards Graham.
radiograham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2018, 9:02 pm   #16
sexton_mallard
Pentode
 
sexton_mallard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ellesmere, Shropshire, UK.
Posts: 198
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

Hi Graham, still battling away... Update coming up soon on the thread:
(https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=106257). For the HDMI2AVI I can't recall exactly if it was ebay or Amazon but the thread on it is here: https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=110721
__________________
Dom
BVWS member
sexton_mallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2018, 8:48 pm   #17
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,307
Default Re: Purchasing an Aurora

I bought mine from eBay, 7 quid Inc postage!

It works a treat!

Cheers
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:00 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.