UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Closed Thread

Old 8th Jul 2010, 9:35 pm   #1
percival007
Heptode

Default Mullard ECL86 3 Watt Economical Amp.

I have just finished making the Mullard Single ECL86 Amp as can be found here:-

http://www.r-type.org/static/2-3.htm

I have already built the 3-3 Single Ended EL84 Amp so as i had two ECL86's (one with a White label and one with a Yellow label, but hey!) doing nothing i thought i'd have a go.

The Mullard circuits found on the 'National Valve Museum' i think are a great way for one to 'learn' about Valves in Audio circuits. I am a bit of a novice when it comes to Valves as can be seen from some of the questions i have asked on here! If followed to the letter (and with some advice from you chaps and chapesses) they can form a very good grounding. I can heartily recommend to anyone wanting to gain more knowledge about the subject to 'have a go' at one of the more simple designs found on this website:-

http://www.r-type.org/

I bought the box and transformers second hand from ebay but the rest of the components used were all second hand rescued from dead or dying units. I'm not sure how much i've spent but it's not a lot.

Sorry for going on but i thought i'd share!!

James.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0013.jpg
Views:	1715
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	37781   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0017.jpg
Views:	1466
Size:	85.3 KB
ID:	37782  
Old 8th Jul 2010, 10:15 pm   #2
dave walsh
Dekatron

Location: Ramsbottom (Nr Bury) Lancs or Bexhill (Nr Hastings) Sussex.
Default Re: ''Mullard ECL86 3 Watt Economical Amp.