UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Jan 2018, 5:12 pm   #1
jpdesroc
Retired Dormant Member

Default Hitachi AM-FM SR-704 receiver.. no stereo reception but strong signal..

Hi all,
I'm a tech that has been working on audio stuff for years
but just starting in the radio freq AM/FM alignment.
So far I've been successfully able to realign some AM radios nicely
but now I have an issue with an vintage Hitachi AM-FM SR-704 receiver.
The FM section receives strong signals from FM radio station
(both strenght and centering meters) but their is no stereo reception..
only mono is received. The STEREO pilot light is not burned but won't lit.
I'm suspecting a weak 19khz pilot signal coming up in the demultiplexer IC.
My question is: can I troubleshoot the FM receiver front end ONLY using
a 10.7mhz carrier signal modulated at 19khz to pinpoint the pilot levels ?
I don't have any stereo RF generator on hand.. only a generator
that goes up to 20mhz and can be modulated AM or FM (mono).
Thanks for your help.
Jean-Pierre Desrochers
Canada
Old 18th Jan 2018, 6:30 pm   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron

Default Re: Hitachi AM-FM SR-704 receiver.. no stereo reception but strong signal..

Well you could use an off air stereo signal that will have the 19Khz at the correct level to trace the problem.
If mono is working the circuit upto and including the detector will be ok. You should be able to see the 19Khz tone on a scope after the detector.
Old 18th Jan 2018, 7:00 pm   #3
jpdesroc
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: Hitachi AM-FM SR-704 receiver.. no stereo reception but strong signal..

Here is a partial section of the overall schematic: