UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 28th May 2020, 1:09 pm   #1
greenstar
Octode

Default Motor and its capacitor on HMV Q286 radiogram, 1934.

I am making halting progress with this. Have looked at the 78 rpm record deck, which has a beautifully made motor. However, it does not run. Resistance of windings ok. I took out and cleaned the pickup arm operated switch, which would not operate, but now does, but it still does not run. One possible suspect is the large rectangular block capacitor mounted on the motor , but I have no knowledge of these motors, nor can find any information, nor, annoyingly, is there anything on the service sheet, written for the chassis only. It measures at about 20 uF, which seems rather high, but there is no value or working voltage marked. I tried connecting a 3uF poly capacitor, but still no movement. The motor, I suspect, is not 220v, as it looks as though it is connected to a tap on the primary of the mains transformer. I would be grateful if anyone can confirm that, as there were and still are so many faults and bodges on this set I wouldn't be surprised if it was connected incorrectly (or were my own notes from it's removal incorrect?)
Anyway, any information or thoughts about getting the motor running appreciated. Looks as though I will also need to find or rewind the pick up coil, and I begin to wonder how if this is too far gone to bother.
Tony
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1130551.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	207020   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1130552.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	207021   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1130553.jpg