UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Feb 2018, 9:14 pm   #1
Autozavod
Triode

Default Ekco T310 Restoration - complete novice

G'day,

I recently purchased an Ekco T310 in good physical, and (hopefully) good electrical condition. I've worked with vintage radios however this is my first attempt at a TV.

The seller said the set's FM radio section works, I have not been able to get it to do so. I live in London and assume the modern equivalent of H, L and T still broadcast? Eventually I'd like to have it as a centrepiece of a interesting mixture of modern internet tv with a 405 receiver (via an AppleTV and aurora)

I'd like to draw on your collective wisdom about where to start with the restoration, I have the schematics and the wealth of info provided in other threads on this forum.

In VHF the set powers up, all the heaters appear to be heating and turning the volume knob produces the little bit of scratching we know and love. No sound tho, no background static, just a slight line hum.

Switching to a TV channel fires up the picture tube (after a graceful warm up period) with full raster, but again, no sound (other than the expected squeal from the EHT) I don't have an aurora set at this stage to test further.

Looking at the tuning turret, all is present and correct, the contacts are clean and the cam for changing between FM and TV is present and working. None of the caps look particularly bad either, tho they are sneaky little *******.

Where do you suggest I start?

Cheers,
Matt
Old 12th Feb 2018, 10:42 pm   #2
slidertogrid
Octode

Default Re: Ekco T310 Restoration - complete novice

Hi Matt