UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Computers

Notices

Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th Oct 2023, 4:34 pm   #1
Phil__G
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,016
Default Teraterm setup for different systems

I finally got around to doing separate configs for all my different systems,
ie the RC2014 is 115200 baud, PICL is 9600 with local echo, Introkit-alike is 2400, the Aitken SC/MP is 300, etc...

This is going to be old hat and simplistic for most but I thought I'd post it anyway just in case theres anyone as slow-on-the-uptake as me

The idea is to create separate Windows shortcuts on the desktop, one for each system, each having the right config for one system.
This is one way, its a bit fiddly and roundabout to set up, and there may well be better ways... but it does work.

Go into Teraterm and set everything up correctly for the first system, lets say its a PICL so baud 9600, 8bit, suitable delays, terminal setup 80x25, local echo on, etc as required by the PICL.

Then do "Setup", "Save Setup" and give a new INI file name such as PICL9600.INI

Now this is the weird bit, Teraterm doesnt store this new INI in the folder shown where you would expect, instead mine puts it in:

C:\Users\Phil\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\teraterm

So then, using cut-&-paste, I manually move it from there to the Teraterm application folder:

C:\Program Files (x86)\teraterm

Next I create a new shortcut by right-clicking 'ttermpro.exe' in this same folder, and I take the option to place the new shortcut on my desktop.
Right-click on this new desktop shortcut and do 'properties', then into the 'Target' field, enter:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\teraterm\ttermpro" /F=PICL9600.INI

just like in the attached screen picture. The slash-F bit is the thing
Finally I rename this new shortcut (right-click, rename) to something meaningful like PICL9600 or whatever.

Repeat from the Teraterm configuration, Setup, Save Setup stage, with an appropriate filename for each INI and each shortcut.

Once I've done one shortcut, to make another its easier to copy that one and amend it, until you have one for each system.

As is often the case its much easier to do than to describe I realise the old hands will have fallen asleep by now but ..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	teraterm_shortcuts.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	286364  
Attached Files
File Type: zip teraterm_shortcuts.zip (671.7 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by Phil__G; 14th Oct 2023 at 4:55 pm.
Phil__G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2023, 4:41 pm   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron
 
G6Tanuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 13,865
Default Re: Teraterm setup for different systems

What version of Windows??

In times past the icon on the desktop was associated with a. PIF file which contained the details of the underlying .EXE but could also include parameters to be passed to the .EXE as equivalent to command line parameters at a DOS prompt.
__________________
I'm the Operator of my Pocket Calculator. -Kraftwerk.
G6Tanuki is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2023, 4:57 pm   #3
Phil__G
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: Teraterm setup for different systems

I'm on 10, I think Program Information Files were a long time ago for passing DOS arguments (?)
Remember Teraterm is a Windows program rather than dos
Phil__G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Oct 2023, 9:17 pm   #4
Realtime
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Ashford, Kent, UK
Posts: 301
Default Re: Teraterm setup for different systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil__G View Post
I finally got around to doing separate configs for all my different systems ….. I realise the old hands will have fallen asleep by now but ..
Thanks for the detailed description- I’ll be making good use of that. To date I’ve only used Teraterm in a very basic manner.
Realtime is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th Oct 2023, 7:23 pm   #5
Phil__G
Octode
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,016
Default Re: Teraterm setup for different systems

I slipped away into a random daydream today, as you do, (dont you? oh dear...)
A pal Frank at work built an Elektor SC/MP, but he didnt use their PCBs presumably cos of the expense, his was all wire-wrapped. Frank passed away a long time back and we were all very fond of him, he was a great bloke, a real character. I remember the glee on his face when he got NIBL working on a teletype, and thats what triggered the thought. I'm sure Frank used a Creed 7B and I remember back-to-back UART baud rate converters, how he added ascii to baudot I dont know but it was typical of Frank to overcome problems like that.
Anyway, cutting a long meander short, I was thinking how we all take putty or teraterm and a laptop for granted. How would we manage without? Most retro computers need a terminal, yes some have VGA but what if there was no VGA/PS2/USB? Would we have the patience and dedication as an example to add baudot I/O routines to NIBL by manual patching, with no assembler (cross or native) no file transfers, no serial loading intel hex...) and no machine to try it out on other than itself? Manually keying hex into 1702 and 5204 eproms? (actually we were fortunate - the BT repair centre had a blower). With no internet to ask? meeting like minds and sharing progress only once per month at the computer club?
Theres no doubt the hobby is much easier the second time around Its a much more leisurely and more open activity now.
Ah damn it, my tea's gone cold again
Cheers
Phil

Last edited by Phil__G; 24th Oct 2023 at 7:31 pm.
Phil__G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:24 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2023, Paul Stenning.