UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Jan 2019, 8:25 am   #1
Numskull
Diode
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kingston upon Thames, London, UK.
Posts: 6
Default How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Hi all. I've done a quick search and not come up with anything. I apologise in advance if I'm an idiot and there is loads of info or even a "How to do it" on this subject.... We have a couple of 1970's JVC TV's - a 3050 portable TV/Radio and a portable 3020. Both are in perfect operating condition but obviously, I can't use them at present. Given this, how do go about converting and then sending an analogue signal to these two sets? I'd like to have them up-and-running in our listening room with our analogue HiFi, so any help or advice on how to do this would be really appreciated.
Numskull is offline  
Old 13th Jan 2019, 11:15 am   #2
Simon Gittins
Pentode
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 124
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

The easiest way is with a Freeview box with RF modulator built in; I'm not sure whether any are available new any more. Another possibility is to use the RF output from a video recorder.

There was a thread about this in 2016:
https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=128343
Simon Gittins is online now  
Old 13th Jan 2019, 11:18 am   #3
Scimitar
Heptode
 
Scimitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 520
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Freeview HD box, the Manhatten is a good choice and comes with an AV socket besides HDMI. Then a modulator if you have no way of inputting CVBS.
Scimitar is online now  
Old 13th Jan 2019, 8:46 pm   #4
Numskull
Diode
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kingston upon Thames, London, UK.
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Thanks for the responses. Only the 3020 has an RF in, hence why I was looking for a solution that could send a signal. I know there were video senders available a few years back; could they be used or were they only analogue to analogue?
Numskull is offline  
Old 14th Jan 2019, 2:50 am   #5
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,392
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Even if the JVC 3050 has no aerial socket you can easily improvise by making connections to the rod aerial and ground.

UHF analogue senders are hard to find. They have been illegal to buy, sell or possess since 1998.
http://www.legislation.gov.uk/uksi/1998/722/made
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now  
Old 14th Jan 2019, 6:32 am   #6
Numskull
Diode
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kingston upon Thames, London, UK.
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Thanks everyone. I do have a couple of Freeview boxes in the loft so that could be a solution.
Graham, could you expand a bit on how to connect the cable to the 3050? As you say, it has a rod aerial.
Numskull is offline  
Old 14th Jan 2019, 9:30 am   #7
Jac
Hexode
 
Jac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands.
Posts: 481
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

The JVC luckily has aerial sockets and an antenna switch; see photo of my 3050EU.

Jac
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-01-14 3050EU 19 ant aansl small.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	176391  
Jac is offline  
Old 14th Jan 2019, 8:58 pm   #8
Numskull
Diode
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kingston upon Thames, London, UK.
Posts: 6
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Ahhh, the screws on the side! Forgot about those! Does one split the coax across the two?
Numskull is offline  
Old 14th Jan 2019, 10:03 pm   #9
Sideband
Dekatron
 
Sideband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Croydon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 5,371
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numskull View Post
I do have a couple of Freeview boxes in the loft so that could be a solution.
I hope they are not too old....many of the early ones (pre analogue switch-off) will no longer work with the current digital signals. I had to scrap two otherwise working boxes after analogue switch-off...one didn't work from the outset, the other died in stages......
__________________
On Spike Milligan's headstone......I told you I was ill...
Sideband is offline  
Old 15th Jan 2019, 7:34 pm   #10
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,392
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numskull View Post
Thanks everyone. I do have a couple of Freeview boxes in the loft so that could be a solution.
Graham, could you expand a bit on how to connect the cable to the 3050? As you say, it has a rod aerial.
Lash something up along these lines

Click image for larger version

Name:	aerial.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	88.1 KB
ID:	176495

The wire from the pin of the aerial socket goes to the aerial rod, and the wire from the shell of the socket goes to ground.
By ground I don't mean mains earth, I mean (in your case) the battery negative spring.
Actually, it will probably work well enough without the ground wire.

I've used a radio to illustrate how to do it, I could't find my little Casio TV.

If you need a plug and adaptor, Poundland do a kit.




PS I still haven't found the Casio, but I've found this picture I took of it doing exactly what you want to do. No ground connection, and perfect picture.
Click image for larger version

Name:	casio tv.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	101.0 KB
ID:	176496
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT

Last edited by rambo1152; 15th Jan 2019 at 8:02 pm.
rambo1152 is online now  
Old 15th Jan 2019, 9:24 pm   #11
McMurdo
Dekatron
 
McMurdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Staffordshire Moorlands, UK.
Posts: 3,569
Default Re: How to view digital on an analogue TV?

TV's like that often come new packaged with a balun to connect to the aerial screws but I'm sure it's not that necessary
__________________
Kevin
McMurdo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 5:51 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.