UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Feb 2020, 4:40 pm   #1
knorxou
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4
Default Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

Hi guys!

I signed up cause people here seem to be quite knowledgeable and helpful. I scanned through the posts regarding my machine but couldn't find what I was looking for so let me explain:

I'm just trying to isolate the turntable from the machine. The turntable part is connected with three plugs. One is just for the button panel. Then there is one with four pins going directly to the amp part that also has the speaker plugs so I'm guessing that's the audio plug (although i'm irritated by it being a big red cable I first thought it was for power delivery)
The third cable with 6 pins (purple grey green yellow orange brown) seems to powering the whole thing as it was able to work with both other plugs not connected.

So first I'd like to confirm (if anyone here knows) if my guesses about the functions of the plugs are right and if so what are the voltages on that 6 pin plug?
Before anyone asks: yes I did try to measure them but since I'm an idiot I accidentally shorted two pins which apparantly fried the power supply as the machine wouldn't turn on now. This is however not a huge setback for me as I only planned on keeping the turntable part. The only figure I was able to measure was about 15v between the purple and grey pins at each respective end of the plug.
I'm really not used to the color codes in this machine so does anyone know what the other cables do and if I need to supply different voltages to each of them?
As for the power supply. I don't know if that can be saved. All the visible fuses seem to be ok.
knorxou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Feb 2020, 8:32 pm   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 7,485
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

Service manual available from
https://www.hifiengine.com/manual_li.../vz-3500.shtml
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Feb 2020, 1:51 am   #3
ben
Dekatron
 
ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain / Wirral, UK
Posts: 5,651
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

Trying to isolate the turntable from the machine seems pretty pointless, as it is not a separates system. You will still have that extra lump with the amp and cassette deck sitting there doing nothing whatever you do!

I would try and fix the power supply first. Probably just an open circuit resistor.
__________________
Regards,
Ben.
ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2020, 8:53 am   #4
knorxou
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuvistor View Post
I read that already. I couldn't find the single voltages for the different pins. It gives great detail on how a lot of things are wired to the microcontroller but not what input voltages are required for the turntable

Quote:
Originally Posted by ben View Post
Trying to isolate the turntable from the machine seems pretty pointless, as it is not a separates system. You will still have that extra lump with the amp and cassette deck sitting there doing nothing whatever you do!

I would try and fix the power supply first. Probably just an open circuit resistor.

I actually wanna get rid of all the rest. I can just feed the audio into my own preamp circuit and I already isolated the button panel controlling the turntable. I just need to supply the turntable with the correct voltages through that 6 pin connector, but for testing purposes it would of course be very helpful to have the power supply running again.

There is this big board on the back of the machine that houses the power supply and the amp. I counted five fuses (is that what you mean by circuit resistor?) they all seem to be working. Are there more underneath or is there maybe a temperature switch inside the big transformer brick? It got really warm after my accident (I didn't check if it did that before though)
knorxou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2020, 10:51 am   #5
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 15,509
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

What's the circuit designation of the connector you're referring to?

If it's CNS504/CNP504 the voltages are clearly marked on the diagram. Page 40 in the service manual.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Feb 2020, 1:18 pm   #6
ms660
Dekatron
 
ms660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 8,688
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

The turntable motor is a servo job, it won't work properly as a stand alone unless you included the electronics with it such as the PWB-F1 board etc etc and a suitable power source to supply those parts.

Just to note, the microcomputer IC501...pins 26 & 27 are the inputs from the record selector, pin 5 is the selected speed output.

Lawrence.

Last edited by ms660; 15th Feb 2020 at 1:38 pm. Reason: missing F
ms660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2020, 3:32 pm   #7
knorxou
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

Hey guys I just realized we might have a misunderstanding here. I might have not made clear what I am actually trying to pull off as English is not my native language. I'll try to explain again:

So what I try to isolate is not just the turntable platter but the whole record player section or in other words: I want to get rid of the tape player, the amp, the power supply and the radio.
I want to supply power to the record player via some other power supply and lead the audio into my own amp.

I also thoroughly read the service manual again but couldn't find the connectors I'm referring to. It seems like the vz-3000 is different in those regards so I'll include some pictures.

Picture1: The back view of the record player section removed from the vz-3500

Picture2: The three connectors that connect the record player section to the rest of the machine, The left one being the one I suspect to be made for power delivery. The middle one I suspect is for audio output and the right one just connects to the button board for controlling the player.

Picture3: This is where the middle connector connects on the back of the record player (the upper connector with the big red wire) right next to a grey wire leading to the board that connects to the cardridges.

Picture4:
The board that houses the speaker and some other connectors on the back of the machine. This is where this red wire connects on the main unit.

Picture5:
The board with the amp and where the transformer connects. The connector in question is the one on the lower left. It connects to the six pin connector on the record player. I measured 15v between the outer most pins of this one before I fried everything by stupidly shorting two other pins.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-02-17_15-23-11.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	199170   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-02-17_15-23-13.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	99.6 KB
ID:	199171   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-02-17_15-23-16.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	199172   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-02-17_15-23-18.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	199173   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo_2020-02-17_15-23-22.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	87.4 KB
ID:	199174  

knorxou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Feb 2020, 3:33 pm   #8
knorxou
Diode
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 4
Default Re: Sharp VZ-3500 turntable voltage?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Station X View Post
What's the circuit designation of the connector you're referring to?

If it's CNS504/CNP504 the voltages are clearly marked on the diagram. Page 40 in the service manual.
I tried to identify that but I couldn't really find a matching connector in the diagrams. Maybe I'm just blind or I don't look in the right spot.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ms660 View Post
The turntable motor is a servo job, it won't work properly as a stand alone unless you included the electronics with it such as the PWB-F1 board etc etc and a suitable power source to supply those parts.

Just to note, the microcomputer IC501...pins 26 & 27 are the inputs from the record selector, pin 5 is the selected speed output.
I think I found what you mentioned. But isn't the motor controller on the same board as the rest of the record player electronics?
knorxou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.