UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 14th May 2006, 12:56 pm   #1
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Hi Guys,

I have just bought one of the Aurora low cost standards converters and I was looking for a video tape of either :..

a) The BBC Ident with batwings/angel wings

b) The BBC Ident with the 4 wavy grey stripes either side of the clock/grating

c) The BBC Ident in colour with Queen Elizabeth II.

I am looking to flash the prom with one of these images rather than Test Cards A thru F.

Any help would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Andi
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 14th May 2006, 9:06 pm   #2
ppppenguin
Retired Dormant Member
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Does anyone have....?

Has it arrived yet? How much customs duty etc?

It should come with Test card C flashed into the memory.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 14th May 2006, 9:17 pm   #3
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Does anyone have....?

Hiya,

Not yet, should be here by friday. If Darryl marked them gift the weight wouldnt give the game away to the value and customs charges wouldnt be an issue.

I just fancied one of the old BBC Idents for the flash rather than TC C.

Andi
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 8:56 pm   #4
Roy
Hexode
 
Roy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 258
Default Re: Does anyone have....?

Andi, I hope you have better luck with Customs than this:

£27.38 VAT plus £13.50 Parcelforce "clearance fee" - total £40.88

But it's an excellent product and you won't be disappointed. I'm testing it now on a 23" set and I cannot fault it in any way.

Roy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	aurora1.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	3796   Click image for larger version

Name:	aurora2.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	3797  
Roy is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 9:22 pm   #5
ppppenguin
Retired Dormant Member
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Does anyone have....?

The VAT is about right, it should be 17.5% of the declared value plus postage. The Parcelfarce handling fee is scandalous.

The first one for me came via the Post Office and was about £27 VAT plus £3.50 handling. Can't object to that too much I suppose. The second one came via Parcelfarce but fortunately the customs people were having a good day and only charged about £7 VAT so even with the £13.50 fee it worked out cheaper. AFAIK there is no way that Darryl can influence which carrier handles the package at the UK end unless he uses DHL etc who I believe charge even higher fees.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 11:00 pm   #6
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Does anyone have....?

I order lots and lots of things from america and as long as they are sent as gifts then there shouldnt be a customs charge...

Those results look great I hope my old 17" Pye will do as well.. Already got my Dr Who tapes ready,,,

Andi
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 11:17 pm   #7
Paul Stenning
Administrator
 
Paul Stenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 9,122
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Thread renamed to something meaningful and moved to the right section.

It is also drifting OT and is likely to get closed if this continues.
__________________

Paul Stenning
Forum Admin/Owner and BVWS Webmaster
Paul Stenning is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 11:21 pm   #8
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Sorry Paul.

Still looking for the BBC Idents... I saw the one with the wavy lines at the NVCF so someone must have it lol...

Andi
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 15th May 2006, 11:23 pm   #9
Paul Stenning
Administrator
 
Paul Stenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 9,122
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

This site http://625.uk.com/tv_logos/ has some logos and idents, but I don't know if they have the one you want or if the resolution is high enough.
__________________

Paul Stenning
Forum Admin/Owner and BVWS Webmaster
Paul Stenning is offline  
Old 16th May 2006, 7:27 am   #10
ppppenguin
Retired Dormant Member
 
ppppenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: North London, UK.
Posts: 6,168
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

It is not necessarily trivial to get idents from your PC into an Aurora. The only way that an Aurora can acquire a picture is as a video signal. If your PC can output full screen PAL video then you should be OK, otherwise you would probably have to take David Robinson's approach of making a file that can be burnt to DVD and played on a DVD player. This is how he did his custom test patterns which were seen at the NVCF.
ppppenguin is offline  
Old 16th May 2006, 8:56 am   #11
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Just need to find some High quality versions of the idents I want.
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 17th May 2006, 3:28 pm   #12
DoctorWho
Rest in Peace
 
DoctorWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Devon
Posts: 850
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

It will be good when these are generaly available. Great news!
DoctorWho is offline  
Old 17th May 2006, 9:06 pm   #13
molochkartovski
Tetrode
 
molochkartovski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wilton, Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 66
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

http://tv50.org.uk/main.menu

Have the batswings and things I don't know what the resolutions like though
I'm looking forward to my aurora arriving at the end of the week too

Richard
molochkartovski is offline  
Old 17th May 2006, 9:29 pm   #14
DoctorWho
Rest in Peace
 
DoctorWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Devon
Posts: 850
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

I have the batwings ident and the others transmitted during the Lime Grove Story if that's any help.
DoctorWho is offline  
Old 17th May 2006, 9:48 pm   #15
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

That would be great. PM sent...

Andi
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 19th May 2006, 9:12 am   #16
Courtney Louise
Octode
 
Courtney Louise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Welshpool, Powys, Wales
Posts: 1,340
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Hi guys

Well My Aurora arrived today and I am very very happy with it (just need to try and sort out the audio...)

Heres a screen grab from My pye 17" rental set of unknown model...

Thanks again Darryl, its amazing...

Andi

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1736 (Medium).JPG
Views:	164
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	3833   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1737 (Medium).JPG
Views:	175
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	3834  
__________________
33, 45, 78, around and around they go...
Courtney Louise is offline  
Old 10th Apr 2007, 5:17 pm   #17
Andy Green
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Waterford, Republic of Ireland
Posts: 259
Default Re: Aurora low cost standards converter - Does anyone have....?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ppppenguin View Post
It is not necessarily trivial to get idents from your PC into an Aurora. The only way that an Aurora can acquire a picture is as a video signal. If your PC can output full screen PAL video then you should be OK, otherwise you would probably have to take David Robinson's approach of making a file that can be burnt to DVD and played on a DVD player. This is how he did his custom test patterns which were seen at the NVCF.
If you also have or have access to an RT Russell test card gen, you could use this, as it is easy to load pictures to this, and export as 405 line video (or 819,525 or even 625 lines)
Andy Green is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 3:29 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2023, Paul Stenning.