UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Dec 2011, 10:29 pm   #1
Miguel Lopez
Heptode

Default My first experience with electronic tubes

Hello everyone

I open this thread to ask for help (as ussual) about the misterious world (at least for me) of electronic tubes.

I have always been “transistorised”, and I have a lot of experience using transistors. On th other hand, I have never use valves, despite the fact that when I began to experiment with electronics, there were a lot of valve-made equipment still in use in Cuba, such as Soviet-made TV sets and Chinese-made radio sets. For years, electronic tubes have been surrounded by a mystic curtain, covering them from my eyes. So, that was always a pending subject in my “career” as electronics lover

In recent times I began to read about valves and their ussage. I read a good book from the 50s. Well, I proposed myself to build something with valves before I leave this world (I hope to be here for a long, long, long time, but I’d like to start now because tomorrow never knows) But I still have a huge lack of knowledge about this devices.

The obvious equipment for a begginer should be an audio amplifier. I have search some diagrams and I have recolect some components, but I still have a lot of doubts. The diagram I pretend to implement is attached in this post. The doubts I have are the following:

1.) What should be the DC supply voltaje for this circuit.? (150, 200, 250, 300V)