UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Jul 2011, 9:15 pm   #1
davegsm82
Heptode

Default 405-line o/p from Linux

[Split from here - Kat]

Kat, if I make a break-off thread, would you be so kind as to elaborate on the process involved in getting a linux based system to output 405 lines?

I have a first class degree in computer and network technology, so don't worry, you shouldn't baffle me with tech-speak.

Dave.

Last edited by Kat Manton; 6th Jul 2011 at 7:07 am. Reason: Thread split
Old 5th Jul 2011, 10:47 pm   #2
Kat Manton
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: Simple memory card player idea

Okay...
  • Use nVidia GeForce 4 or GeForce FX 5200 card.
  • Use binary drivers from nVidia.
  • If you already know how to configure your X server for old fixed-rate Unix workstation monitors, you'll know what to do with the following fragment from one of many "Monitor" sections in my X server configuration file. If you don't, all the information is on the 'net, in man pages and in the documentation for the nVidia driver.
Code:
    Option      "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
    HorizSync   9.0 - 11.0
    VertRefresh 45.0 - 55.0
    DisplaySize 128 96
    Modeline "405i50" 8.10  664 680 752 800  378 379 386 405 -hsync -vsync interlace
Disclaimer: Use at your own risk. No responsibility accepted if your computer monitor screams at 10.125 kHz then catches fire or you fry a 405-line TV by feeding it with 1600 x 1200 @ 85 Hz etc. (Hint: ssh/telnet; don't connect monitor; only connect RGB/sync combiner, modulator and TV when H/V sync measure 10.125 kHz and 50 Hz respectively.)

Kat