UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 15th May 2023, 8:25 pm   #1
Winterpip57
Diode

Default Advance FM/AM signal generator type 63a

Hi all I'm new here, does anyone know if I can reduce the deviation from 22ks down to 2.5 ks by moding it please, note note I'm ok with transistors etc ,but tubes I'm a beginner .and cautious because of the high volts in tube items..
Many thanks....Paul
Old 15th May 2023, 8:48 pm   #2
Cruisin Marine
Heptode

Default Re: Advance fm/am signal generator type 63a

Do you have a deviation/modulation meter?
Old 15th May 2023, 8:55 pm   #3
Winterpip57
Diode

Hi ,no i havent...paul
Old 15th May 2023, 8:57 pm   #4
Winterpip57
Diode

If i know how to mod, then i can monitor on a rx and get it aprox right...paul
Old 15th May 2023, 9:14 pm   #5
Radio Wrangler

There is a potentiometer, R6 which will affect the amount of deviation, but this generator dates back to a period when all FM radios used much wider deviation than 2.5KHz. Broadcast radios using 75kHz deviation, PMR sets in taxis, police etc had 50lHz channel spacing and deviations of maybe 20kHz.

I can't say for certain, but it is unlikely that it can be easily reduced so far, also the amount of deviation will change from band to band and as you tune around each band, and you would need something to measure the deviation with to know what you've got.