UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 20th Feb 2012, 4:35 pm   #1
Chris Wilson
Heptode

Default "Proper" receiver and transmitter for new amateur radio enthusiast?

I am studying for my foundation level UK amateur radio test and am looking at radio gear. Whilst all the modern stuff from Icom, Kenwood et al looks nice, is small and efficient in its use of space, and is probably very reliable, I still hanker after something big and beautiful, that looks like something from a 50's or 60's film. I have the desk space, and have decided to ask if I am mad for considering old gear for this purpose? I have an inkling of electronics knowledge, but definitely not a vast amount, but I am keen to learn further. I have basic test gear. I have basic soldering and de-soldering gear. I am as much or more interested in the social side of chatting to different people around the world as I am in tearing the thing apart on a regular basis.

My questions are:

How much less efficient is vintage gear than the modern plastic box stuff?
I would value something of beauty as well as something of excellence. How much am I looking to spend on something that looks mint, works out of the box, has a classic pedigree and has the ability of still being repaired, and still has most common failure prone bits available?