UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Other Discussions > Homebrew Equipment

Notices

Homebrew Equipment A place to show, design and discuss the weird and wonderful electronic creations from the hands of individual members.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Sep 2011, 11:12 pm   #1
antcus
Retired Dormant Member

Default Battery eliminator power supply

I am in the process of building the power supply described on this site, but am getting confused about the polarity of the capacitors as shown in the pictorial. The capacitors have a band at one end, but they seem to be connected to the positive side even though the band usually indicated the negative side of a capacitor? Where am I getting confused?
I have been building and repairing radios since I was 9 years old, and cannot figure out what is confusing me in such a simple circuit.
Old 12th Sep 2011, 11:21 pm   #2
Alistair D
Nonode

Default Re: Battery eliminator power supply

Please post a picture of the caps. mny Philips axial caps of the 70s had a black band close to the +ve terminal.

Al
Old 13th Sep 2011, 8:50 pm   #3
antcus
Retired Dormant Member

It is not a picture, just go to the "Things to make" section of this site and you will see a drawing with these lines showing. Just let me know if you have made out where my difficulty lies.

Yes i can imagine how you discovered the capacitor polarity....you were playing with popping fireworks were'nt you??
Old 13th Sep 2011, 9:14 pm   #4
Amraduk
Hexode

Quote:
Originally Posted by antcus View Post
It is not a picture, just go to the "Things to make" section of this site and you will see a drawing with these lines showing. Just let me know if you have made out where my difficulty lies.