UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd Jun 2019, 11:59 pm   #1
WizRider
Retired Dormant Member

Default Help repairing a Commodore 1084S CRT monitor

Hi all.

I've just bought a Commodore 1084S monitor and it has been damaged during delivery.

Everything was fine for a moment or two after powering it on but after a few seconds the picture went like the attached image.

I'm a real newb when it comes to electronics but I think it's called partial vertical collapse.

Is there anyone that can help me get the monitor working again? Happy to pay for people's time of course.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_20190603_201442.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	56.2 KB
ID:	184405  
Old 4th Jun 2019, 12:41 pm   #2
GadgetM
Tetrode

Default Re: Help repairing a Commodore 1084S CRT monitor

As it may have been mistreated during postage I suspect that you may have cracked solder joints on or near the frame IC. Take a look at the underside of the whole board with a magnifying glass and re-solder any joints that look suspect. It's not really frame collapse there, more a vertical linearity issue. Good luck!

...You may also want to check for any electrolytic capacitors with bulging tops as they will need replacing.
Old 4th Jun 2019, 1:05 pm   #3
Argus25
No Longer a Member

If you look at the raster you can see it is a lot more than a vertical scan issue. The scan width is reduced. The vertical scan shows distortion of the trace (abnormal linearity) and there is cross over distortion in the scan accounting for the bright horizontal line through the center of it.