UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Other Vintage Household Electrical or Electromechanical Items

Notices

Other Vintage Household Electrical or Electromechanical Items For discussions about other vintage (over 25 years old) electrical and electromechanical household items. See the sticky thread for details.

Closed Thread

Old 25th Nov 2014, 8:48 am   #1
Melmobattery
Retired Dormant Member

Default Goblin Teasmade 855 noisy clock

Firstly this is my first time on any forum let alone this one so hope I have understood the rules, if not please let me know.

I have recently acquired a replacement Goblin Teasmade 855. Unlike my previous one it has a seconds hand. I think it is this which is making a noise. It's not too noticeable during the day, however in the quiet of the night it is absolutely infuriating. I had my old machine for 8 years, but I don't think I can stand this noise for that amount of time.

Is there anything I can do? Is it possible to remove the seconds hand, and would that help in any case? I'd be very grateful for any advice or suggestions.
Old 26th Nov 2014, 3:30 pm   #2
Mike Phelan
Dekatron

Default Re: Goblin Teasmade 855 noisy clock

Hi?

Is the seconds hand making a noise every minute? If so it's bent and touching the other hands.

Unlikely, though - it's more likely that the noise is coming from the movement, either due to wear or damage on one of the plastic wheels.

If you're lucky the problem might be visible, otherwise you'll have to do a bit of dismantling; how are you for that?

You might have to reinstate your old one!
Old 26th Nov 2014, 3:48 pm   #3
paulsherwin

A single drop of oil on the noisy bearing often works wonders. It will be one of the bearings which rotates quickly, either the motor itself or the second hand wheel. Only a tiny amount of oil is needed.