UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th May 2020, 2:40 am   #1
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Fixing a GEC BT 302 Television

Before attempting to fix my Murphy television I thought I'd practise on this one any help appreciated. I have schematics If that helps. When I turned on the set sounded like the 2 amp fuse blew. I'm only just learning but I want to know more.

This is the tv in question
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OSsAs9S - Imgur(1).jpg
Views:	71
Size:	73.6 KB
ID:	205908  
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2020, 6:49 am   #2
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 7,832
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Did the fuse blow have you checked it?
The post by Slidertogrid #14 in your other thread points to the capacitor across the mains input that could blow the fuse, did you remove this?

Remember these are live chassis sets and safe if treated and handled correctly but a shock hazard if not.

Some theory about power supplies and live chassis techniques used in radios and TV sets of this vintage is worth learning otherwise itís just guess work.
That at least would get you safely started on the repair.
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2020, 1:03 pm   #3
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Yes, thank you I discharge the CRT with crocodile clips and a screwdriver pushed under plug and crocodile clip to chassis. I will send some pictures of the television open. I do see a very big capacitor bottom right-hand side.

PS Can I use a modern 3 amp the fuse is a glass 2 amp
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2020, 8:42 pm   #4
slidertogrid
Octode
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

No I wouldn't do that. If the fuse blew there is very little point in replacing it without finding out why it blew. You will just blow another fuse.
The large capacitor if it's a metal can isn't the one across the mains. The one across the mains will be a small wax coated one.
Take some pictures of the chassis around the fuse holder and the back of the on - off switch we may be able to spot the capacitor and advise from there. You are still in a similar position to the Murphy though in so much as the set will need all of the old capacitors replacing (at least) before it will work.
slidertogrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2020, 9:44 pm   #5
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Here are the pictures of tv
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image0 (1).jpg
Views:	210
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	205004   Click image for larger version

Name:	image0 (2).jpg
Views:	202
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	205005   Click image for larger version

Name:	image0 (3).jpg
Views:	185
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	205006   Click image for larger version

Name:	image0.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	205007   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (1).jpg
Views:	172
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	205008  

deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2020, 11:31 pm   #6
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Here are more pictures
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (2).jpg
Views:	147
Size:	68.1 KB
ID:	205012   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (3).jpg
Views:	135
Size:	57.8 KB
ID:	205013   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	205014   Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	70.9 KB
ID:	205015   Click image for larger version

Name:	image3.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	205016  

deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 10:13 am   #7
FERNSEH
Dekatron
 
FERNSEH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,169
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Link to a GEC GEC BT302 that received some attention to in 2017.

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=123587

DFWB.
FERNSEH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 11:17 am   #8
Colourstar
Octode
 
Colourstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ilkeston, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 1,208
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

It's worth mentioning before you dive in to the repair that both your sets work on the old 405 line system, so you'll need a 625 to 405 standards converter to use them with a dvd player etc. Without a converter these sets are purely ornamental. They cost around £200 so it's worth thinking about whether you want to invest in one before you go much further.

Best of luck,

Steve
Colourstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 11:24 am   #9
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Yes thank you for the advice I have one, all my money goes into the 1950s furniture etc.

Can you tell me anything by these pictures? where shall I start etc
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 11:42 am   #10
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 16,390
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

I'd start by obtaining a copy of the circuit diagram.

I'd snip out any capacitor wired directly across the mains supply, the set will work without it.

Then I'd concentrate on the heater chain, testing it for continuity from one end to the other.

You can do all this without applying power.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 11:57 am   #11
dazzlevision
Nonode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 2,561
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

In your second photo in post number 5, the dirty wax covered cylindrical item at the bottom is the “mains filter capacitor” and it should be cut out and removed. Do this with the TV unplugged from the mains electricity supply (apologies if I’m “teaching you how to suck eggs”).

This TV looks to have been stored in a damp environment, which won’t help.
dazzlevision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:09 pm   #12
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

No all and information is very helpful, so I need to cut the mains capacitor
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:15 pm   #13
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Do you mean this marked item? sorry If I'm sucking eggs lol I'm new to this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPGgxsgsxd.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	205085  
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:39 pm   #14
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

The capacitor looks soldered to the chassis is this rite looks unfactory maybe it is I don't know ill send you pic.
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:41 pm   #15
dazzlevision
Nonode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 2,561
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepspacedaz View Post
Do you mean this marked item? sorry If I'm sucking eggs lol I'm new to this.
Yes.
dazzlevision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:45 pm   #16
dazzlevision
Nonode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 2,561
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Quote:
Originally Posted by deepspacedaz View Post
The capacitor looks soldered to the chassis is this rite looks unfactory maybe it is I don't know ill send you pic.
If youíre referring to that dirty wax covered one that I mentioned earlier, then one wire is very likely to be soldered directly to the metal chassis, as it will normally be connected to the mains neutral when the TV is switched on (the black wire in the two wire mains lead).
dazzlevision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:49 pm   #17
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

I am yes I've cut it looks bad. I do have a multimeter.
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 6:52 pm   #18
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Did you want to see a pic of the capacitor
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 7:10 pm   #19
deepspacedaz
Hexode
 
deepspacedaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Matlock, Derbyshire, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

I've completely removed the capacitor
deepspacedaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 7:14 pm   #20
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 16,390
Default Re: Fixing a GEC BT 330 Television

Do you have a circuit for the TV?
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:26 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.