UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing

Notices

Cabinet and Chassis Restoration and Refinishing For help with cabinet or chassis restoration (non-electrical), please leave a message here.

Closed Thread

Old 14th Oct 2013, 11:00 pm   #1
RadioBlues
Retired Dormant Member

Default S G Brown H1 horn loudspeaker.

Hello!
I just bought myself an S G Brown horn loudspeaker and since I am new to restoring, I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to handle/what to do with this wonderful device
Any help will be much appreciated.

Best regards,
Pedro

Moderator edit: Moved from this thread: https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ad.php?t=65905

Last edited by AC/HL; 15th Oct 2013 at 1:02 am. Reason: Moved to a new thread
Old 15th Oct 2013, 9:23 am   #2
newlite4
Octode

Default Re: S G Brown H1 horn loudspeaker.

They look brilliant on a shelf display, but I suppose it wouldn't hurt to run an ipod through them, the output is low enough not to damage the coil and it would make a good talking point.
Neil
Old 15th Oct 2013, 2:03 pm   #3

They do sound pretty awful compared to modern 'speakers, just think of it in the 20's, must have been brilliant!

Old 15th Oct 2013, 9:02 pm   #4
RadioBlues
Retired Dormant Member

Haha, thank you both for your posts
I would love to do that! just for the kicks of it haha
I completely fell in love for it when I saw it but its in a pretty bad condition as it shows in the pictures, any advice on where I should start refurbishing/restoring it? any tips or knacks on how to do it? regard me as a complete newbie haha

Best of regards from yours trully,
Pedro Magalhães
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1112.jpg
Views:	303
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	85116   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1113.jpg