UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Apr 2020, 7:51 am   #1
Hiten123
Triode

Default Help me troubleshoot Philips Valve radio 15RB505

Hello everyone,

This is Hiten From India. I have Philips Valve radio Name : Prestige Model No. 15RB505.00Z bought by my dad in 70s. It needs to be repaired. Here is information about it.

Brief history of problem and information And Direct link to Service Manual : Link

1) I am graphic designer by profession with very little knowledge about electronics. But I know basic rudimentary concepts. and I can take precautions of high voltages on valve radio

2) The radio was stored away for decades. 4/5 years a go I brought it out and it was playing. However I only played it for few mins. then stored away again. 2 years back I again played it with its pickup input playing 78 shellac record player (Ceramic cartridge). After few mins. with little burst sound the radio stopped working.

3) Now we are underlockdown and I have time to see it. I opened it and Resistor R15 gets very very hot in 3/4 seconds. and light plume of smoke was seen. So immediately stopped.

4) Testing I have done : Kindly check this link for detailed tests I have done. LINK

5) On above forum a gentleman helped me troublshoot some sections of the radio. Putting in only Rectifier valve EZ80 and Valve ECL82 and with pickup input radio is playing fine.

6) If I put ECH81 and EBF89 valve No sound from MW or SW bands and from the pickup input The sound is little less compared to with out putting in ECH81 and EBF89.