UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Sep 2018, 6:20 pm   #1
Panrock
Nonode

Default Which stylus is which?

Hi. I'm new to working on gram decks and the like. This question is about my own Dynatron Ether Conqueror, which needs a new cartridge and stylus.

As far as I'm aware the deck may not be original on this 1948 set, since it has a speed selector. This is raised atop a column. The deck appears to bear no maker's marking but looks to be of good quality. A photo can be posted if requested.

I have to hand a new/old stock BSR SC12H cartridge, which I understand is stereo compatible. To this I have fitted a new turn-over stylus set.

My question is about the styli. There is a stylus 'point' on either side: one a little further back along the shaft than the other. Under a low power microscope the two of them look identical.

Which one is for LPs and which for 78s? I am guessing the one further in might be for 78s since I would imagine the 'needle' excursion is more. Am I right?

Thanks!

Steve
Old 12th Sep 2018, 6:36 pm   #2
'LIVEWIRE?'
Rest in Peace

Default Re: Which stylus is which?

It's possible that what you have is a Dual LP Stylus, rather than an LP/78 one. There are normally markings on each side of the T/O lever. If it is an LP/78 one, one side will/should be clearly marked '78'.
Old 12th Sep 2018, 6:46 pm   #3
Panrock
Nonode

In this case, I made up the stylus assembly from a loose stylus (pair) found in the stores bin, a spare unmarked turnover lever c/w its little rubber tube, and the tiniest spot of superglue! The result fits well and flips over correctly. I've made sure the stylus always sits perpendicular.