UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th Jun 2019, 2:43 pm   #1
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,137
Default Last number redial on 290 butt 'phone

Reading the description on Tele. no. 290 (push-button butt 'phone), one of the facilities listed is last number redial (LNR). There doesn't, however, seem to be a button to press to achieve this, so is there such a facility and if so how is it done?
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2019, 3:13 pm   #2
julie_m
Dekatron
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Derby, UK.
Posts: 7,310
Default Re: Last number redial on 290 butt 'phone

At a guess, press M twice? The last number redial on my parents' first modern phone worked in a similar way, using just the 12 standard keys; * <memory slot> <number> to store, # <memory slot> to dial and # # to redial the last number.
__________________
If I have seen further than others, it is because I was standing on a pile of failed experiments.
julie_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2019, 3:34 pm   #3
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,137
Default Re: Last number redial on 290 butt 'phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_m View Post
At a guess, press M twice?
Actually, that was the first thing I tried - does nothing.

I also tried M * and M #. No joy with either.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2019, 4:22 pm   #4
Pellseinydd
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flintshire, UK.
Posts: 443
Default Re: Last number redial on 290 butt 'phone

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by julie_m View Post
At a guess, press M twice?
Actually, that was the first thing I tried - does nothing.

I also tried M * and M #. No joy with either.
Press 'Dis' button once (beneath receiver on side opposite the dial) then press 'M' twice. Will redial the last manually dialled number up to 21 digits long.

Hope that helps? Works on my Tele 290
Pellseinydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Jun 2019, 7:04 pm   #5
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 4,137
Default Re: Last number redial on 290 butt 'phone

Thanks.

It didn't do anything until I had manually dialled a number again, but dialling, pressing "dis" then the two Ms worked. Presumably the number isn't stored long-term once the 'phone is left disconnected.
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 3:26 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.