UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 14th Sep 2017, 1:23 pm   #1
Edward Huggins
Dekatron

Default Audio use of the ECL80 valve.

I only know of 2 makes of portable record player that used this little triode-pentode - Champion and Masteradio. With "only" 1.2 watts of output power and the (unloved) use of a common cathode, this was overlooked in favour of the later ECL82 and ECL83. However, I have a fully restored Masteradio single player from early 1957 using an ECL80 and EZ80 amplifer (7" x 4" speaker) and have been delighted with its sweet, undistorted sound. Even on LPs this gives a surprisingly room-filling volume. Do honourable Members know if this valve was ever used in any other audio application?
Old 14th Sep 2017, 1:38 pm   #2
Boater Sam
Banned

Location: Middlewich, Cheshire, UK. & Winter in the Philippines.
Default Re: Audio use of the ECL80 valve.

Not audio as in record players but used in many TVs with good results. Not seen any push-pull.
Old 14th Sep 2017, 1:59 pm   #3
kalee20
Dekatron

Mullard themselves produced a circuit for a push-pull 3W amplifier using two ECL80's. I've not heard it, but do intend to make one, some day...
Old 14th Sep 2017, 2:04 pm   #4
Sideband
Dekatron