UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread

Old 7th May 2016, 1:39 pm   #1
deadvideo
Retired Dormant Member

Default RF modulators region specific??

Hi. Complete newbie to forum and subject.

I bought a Radio Shack RF modulator from the US (Channels 3 or 4 operation) and would like to use it on a National TR-809F portable television (which has UHF / VHF connections) here in Japan. I can't seem to get anything on the screen when hooked up to a VHS or DVD player. Do I need to buy a RF modulator specifically for use in Japan or should the Radio Shack one be sufficient? Any info appreciated.
Old 7th May 2016, 2:42 pm   #2
kan_turk
Hexode

Default Re: RF modulators region specific??

Hi
TV RF modulators are indeed region specific - the frequencies used by US channels 3 & 4 were not used for TV in Japan hence your lack of luck - it is sometimes possible to alter frequency range of modulators but this depends on the devices used and your familiarity with RF circuitry
It is also possible to operate on a harmonic of the marked channel but this is a matter for trial & error - you could try tuning the TV to higher freq channels (Jap ch 4 - 12) - sorry for not being more specific as I am not familiar with the actual kit you are using - hope this helps
Rgds
John
Old 7th May 2016, 3:13 pm   #3
Jim_746
Pentode

Hello,

Welcome to the forum.

John is indeed right about RF modulators being region specific.