UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Feb 2018, 10:53 pm   #1
Urumiko
Diode

Question 1962 Dallas Scala Instrument amplifier.

Hi there,

This forum was recommended to me by one of the chaps over at sound on sound. I hope posts about guitar amplifiers are welcome here?

I am a complete amateur when it comes to working on amps and such.
I should probably say up front that I have learned how to ensure my caps are discharged before we go any further.

In a nut shell I bought blind at auction the above amplifier.

I got it home to try out and when turned on it crackled rather a lot, like i had very dirty pots and i was constantly turning them.

I plugged a guitar in and had a twiddle and it seemed to settle down a bit, either due to the twiddling of the volume knob to a clean spot or the valves warming up. I played it for all of 30s and it sounded surprisingly great.. like really great. then the volume seemed to steadily tail off to complete silence and now i cant get a sound out of it.

I was looking for some troubleshooting help.

I thought it would be the rectifier valve. But it turns out there is no rectifier valve.

Here are some photos:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1CV...5tOxIJEzeOWvyy

All i've established so far is the big capacitor does get up to full voltage and then will slowly discharge over a mater of minutes when turned off.

Both valves seem to light up as pictured.

The speaker wire is poor but is not broken or shorting.

The input transformer looks errr old.

It will have had a tremolo unit at some point that has been removed.

Old 22nd Feb 2018, 11:39 pm   #2
PJL
Dekatron