UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 18th May 2017, 9:01 am   #1
stevehertz
Dekatron

Default Varicap tuning

I just worked on a Roberts RM33 small mains powered table radio. The stations were off at each end of (and throughout) the VHF scale. So much so that I could not tune to BBC R2 on 88.3MHz. Acquiring the alignment info - and expecting to re-align by inputting 'frequencies', be it a sig gen or using stations at each end - I was taken back at having to set up voltages! - Varicap tuning. Although I'm familiar with the phrase, I have never worked on a set with it before. It set up quite nicely actually. Interesting technology. Thoughts? Is it better or not as good as 'normal' tuning? cheaper? more stable? (this one wasn't!)
Old 18th May 2017, 9:16 am   #2
G6Tanuki
Dekatron

Default Re: Varicap tuning

Varicap tuning is cheaper to implement: tuning capacitors replaced by a few semiconductors; no need for "string" drives so the assembly process becomes simpler. The interconnection between the RF strip and the front-panel tuning controls becomes a simple DC-carrying wire rather than anything mechanical.

It also makes preset tuning easier (just a potentiometer for each channel and a single-pole-multi-way switch, as opposed to cams/ratchets/springs and suchlike needed for mechanical-tuning-capacitor preset tuning).

Finally, it means you can dispense with a separate AFC-diode and just feed the AFC voltage in as a supplement to the varicap tuning-line voltage.