UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 26th Nov 2012, 12:21 pm   #1
pookienoodle
Retired Dormant Member

Default No dial tone on a N1900E269

Hi all,

I have just converted the above which I have been told is similar to a GPO 706. I can use the phone to dial in, it rings and the line is clear when I answer.

My problem is I have no dial tone, when I depress the switch hook buttons I get a loud click and when I dial I get a momentary dial tone as the dial returns.

Would love any advice on this matter though I must point out I am a complete layman (well woman actually) and was just looking to convert a classic phone as a Christmas gift.

Thanks in advance
Old 26th Nov 2012, 1:21 pm   #2
julie_m
Dekatron

Default Re: No dial tone on a N1900E269

Something is not right, then. But it can't be too far off, if you can answer an incoming call. Maybe you have the dial-off-normal contacts miswired? (Or they may be faulty.)

Download the 706 circuit diagram. This is correct for pretty much any phone with an induction coil and a 5-terminal dial. If your phone has no regulator components fitted, modify the diagram as follows: Delete all regulator components, join "B", "C" and "D" (which go to the regulator PCB) together, and leave "A" and "E" unconnected.

Now, wire up your phone to look like the 706 in the diagram. Line wires go to pins 2 and 5 of the modular socket. There's no point using pin 3 anymore, as it only gets regenerated by a local capacitor inside every ADSL splitter; using the cap already provided in your phone won't make much difference either way.
Old 26th Nov 2012, 10:50 pm   #3
russell_w_b
Dekatron