UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 3rd Nov 2013, 2:58 pm   #1
Skywave
Rest in Peace

Question Soldering Station W.E.P. 937D: your opinions, please

As per the title. I regularly use Weller and Metcal irons, but this model (W.E.P. 937D) is of interest. It is available from a U.K. source / importer and from what I read about it, appears to be good value for money. But I have no experience of this manufacturer, supplier nor this model.
Therefore I would appreciate any informed comments from members, preferably based on personal experience, please.

Thank you.

Al. / Skywave / Nov. 2, 2013 //
Old 5th Nov 2013, 11:36 am   #2
Bazz4CQJ
Dekatron

Default Re: Soldering Station W.E.P. 937D: your opinions, please

I have a AOYUE 937 temperature controlled iron. I think that the same iron is sold under different names; mine came from a UK source via eBay. When I was looking at buying it I searched the web and found the following;
there were 2 variants;the basic model has just a pot to turn and set the temperature, but there is another model which has press buttons to raise or lower the set temp. Everyone with the basic model was happy (and that now includes me) but those who bought the press button model found the buttons became problematic fairly quickly. Had mine for ~2 years now and had no problems, think it is very good for the price and I too used a Weller at work.

Bazz
Old 5th Nov 2013, 1:14 pm   #3
Skywave
Rest in Peace

Thumbs up Re: Soldering Station W.E.P. 937D: your opinions, please

Thank you, Bazz: I found your post useful & informative.