UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 30th Sep 2017, 12:17 am   #1
paulsherwin

Default PAM8403 class D amp chip

I've just bought 5 modules built around the PAM8403 chip from China for the princely sum of 99p. The modules are just a surface mount chip and a few other components on a tiny PCB. I've never used a class D chip before so thought I would buy some and have a play.

Does anybody have any comments regarding these chips? I wondered if there might be RFI problems - we shall see.
Old 30th Sep 2017, 7:43 pm   #2
Ed_Dinning
Dekatron

Default Re: PAM8403 class D amp chip

Hi Paul, plenty of decoupling and very careful track layouts.

This particular beast does not use an output inductor, they could be a nightmare if the Q was too high/ low.

Ed
Old 30th Sep 2017, 8:29 pm   #3
ThePillenwerfer
Octode

I've been using one to power a pair of PC speakers for a few years and never had any trouble with it.

It runs from a spare USB port as it's required voltage is low enough. I'd previously used a pair of LM386s but they were prone to pick up electrical notice from the computer, and weren't as powerful on 5V.

The only downside I'm aware of is that the only way to use them for mono is to only use one half; they can't be used in a bridged configuration.
Old 30th Sep 2017, 9:14 pm   #4
paulsherwin

Thanks for the comments.
Old 30th Sep 2017, 9:24 pm   #5
MrElectronicman
Heptode

I have a couple of these as well, and also used them to replace an LM386. Not had any problem with them so far.