UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 5th Apr 2018, 10:03 pm   #1
Lansonvinyl
Retired Dormant Member

Smile Ferrograph series 4

Hi Everyone

I am a newbie to reel to reel tape recorders although remember them well from my school days in the late 60's & early 70's. I have just recently been toying with the idea of transferring my Vinyl collection to Tape so I do not have to get up every 15 mins to flip the Vinyl. I have been given a series 4a Ferrograph that has been in an attic for 20 Years. So, not only am I a newbie to tape I am a newbie to electronics, so please bear with me. I understand that this mono player is not suitable for recording my early stereo vinyl so this project is more of a learning curve and some curve it is turning out to be.
I have changed all the Capacitors & Resistors that did not come up to standard.
The issue I have at the moment is that there is no volume or gain control, I can just about hear what is being played, though I cannot turn the volume up or down.
Am I stark raving bonkers starting this crazy hobby approaching my 60's or does it get less under your skin with time & experience.
Any advice will be gratefully received.
Old 5th Apr 2018, 10:46 pm   #2
BillDWVA
Pentode

Default Re: Ferrograph series 4

First thing to check is whether there is a build-up of dirt or oxide on the face of the record/play head? Also check that the pressure pad for the head is making proper contact with the back of the tape and that the felt has not gone hard.
Have you a tape recorded on another machine to test the playback function first?

Bill