UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Nov 2021, 12:39 pm   #1
analogadikt
Tetrode

Default How to use this valve tester?

Greetings to all,

This is my first post in this section, although I have a few posts in the vintage audio section.
I have been using valve amps for the past few years, overhauled a few. The usual recap and checking voltages type of jobs.
I have no previous experience of using a valve tester, in fact, this one is the first that I have actually seen and touched in my life, so I need an in depth tutorial about how to go about using it. I hope the good folks here won't mind that.
So I download the datasheet of the valve to be tested, and plugthe specimen in the correct socket. The confusion starts after this. I suppose that now I have to match the pin numbers in the thumb wheel switch to the function marked on top of that. But the markings on this machine and what is written in the datasheet (for example, EL84 pinout) does not match. H+ and H- would be heaters, C is cathode? and A1 /A2 are anodes? G1 could be grid, but where is the second grid connection? And are S, D1 and D2?

Regards,
Old 21st Nov 2021, 12:43 pm   #2
Cobaltblue

Default Re: How to use this valve tester?

Hi it would possibly help to know what kind of valve tester this is apologies if it's hidden in the text somewhere.

Cheers

Mike T
Old 21st Nov 2021, 12:50 pm   #3
Electronpusher0
Nonode

Hello,
what model valve testerdo you have?
If it is an AVO one then all the information you need is in the AVO book. See attached.