UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Aug 2019, 5:27 pm   #1
Sixer-h
Triode

Default Replacing polarised capacitors (condensers) for Pye Record maker

I could not find any previous threads on this subject, but apologies if I missed them.

I am a novice here, but understand that the older caps will be at risk of leaking or going open circuit with time, and so am looking to replace most of the caps. I attach marked up images of the circuit diagram with the GRAM section in red.

I am trying the source polarised capacitors to replaced the Pye's existing polarised caps (in the GRAM circuit), but when searching for the lower value caps, I can only find bipolar caps. The on-line search engines don't help as they show everything with 'polarised' in the wording, including 'non-polarised'.

The caps I need are 350v (min) 0.1, 0.01, 0.02 and 8.0 uF. Please could anyone provide some advice on sourcing polarised capacitors for my Pye Record Maker, or advise as to whether bipolar caps can be used in some instances ?

The Player also has some (flat) caps of 330, 560, 3300, and 6800 PF, that do not show polarisation markings. Could anyone advise as to whether theses are polarised ?

Thanks
Old 15th Aug 2019, 5:57 pm   #2
Boulevardier
Octode

Default Re: Replacing polarised capacitors (condensers) for Pye Record maker

No attachments here...!
Old 15th Aug 2019, 6:25 pm   #3
Nuvistor
Dekatron

0.1,0.01, 0.02 look at these
https://www.cricklewoodelectronics.c...-to-1000V.html

8ufd look at these https://www.cricklewoodelectronics.c...Capacitor.html

The flat capacitors are very likely to be good ones, only replace if proved faulty.