UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18th Aug 2019, 1:43 pm   #61
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Here's a couple of pics of Q524 on a tester compared to a good transistor. I've swapped it for a BC108, but no difference. If I set the scope to EXT HORIZ I can move the dot via the horizontal position pot. Any idea where to look next?

Cheers, Paul M3VUV.

The iffy Q524 shows as a double diode.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190818_123238.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	188523   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190818_132428.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	139.1 KB
ID:	188524  

Last edited by Station X; 18th Aug 2019 at 1:51 pm. Reason: Readability.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2019, 7:03 pm   #62
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,366
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Just going to point out that the device under test shows PNP.... A BC108 is NPN.
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2019, 7:38 pm   #63
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean Williams View Post
Just going to point out that the device under test shows PNP.... A BC108 is NPN.
That wasn't the BC108, just a random transistor to show what the tester displays for a good one, the other pic is the one from the 'scope.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2019, 8:01 pm   #64
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,366
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Ok, cool, had me going there
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2019, 8:21 pm   #65
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

The pics were just to show what the one from the 'scope reads compared to a good one, sort of says it's a back to back diode.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Aug 2019, 8:55 pm   #66
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Forgot to say with it set on ext horiz,i connected the cal output to the ext horiz and still no trace,just a dot,but still movable with the horiz position pot.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2019, 11:13 am   #67
John_BS
Octode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wincanton, Somerset, UK.
Posts: 1,032
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

You have to set the B Trigger switch (top left) to "Ext" and the Horizontal Display to "Ext" - X input is then top left bnc.



John
John_BS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2019, 12:40 pm   #68
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Well, I had a poke around with my ESR meter and found a dead disc ceramic, took it out and it's open. It goes to a pin marked z or n on one end that has a white wire with a grey trace on it, the other end of the wire goes to the A sweep length pot area, only thing is I've no way to measure the value of it, the markings are;-

100
5%
n750

Any ideas? I can't see it on the schematic. Attached pic of the cap and its location.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190819_115519[1].jpg
Views:	31
Size:	153.1 KB
ID:	188574   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190819_115505[1].jpg
Views:	33
Size:	154.2 KB
ID:	188578  
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2019, 1:03 pm   #69
RogerEvans
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 188
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

C561, 100pF 200V 5% ceramic? I don't have the correct manual but the position on the A sweep board and the markings seem to correspond. Connects to Q564 collector.

Roger
RogerEvans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Aug 2019, 2:02 pm   #70
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Well just an update,ive changed the cap for a 120pf as it was the nearest i had to hand,good news is its working fine now!,many thanks for all your help,glad i stuck with it,im fond of this scope,cheers all paul m3vuv 73.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Aug 2019, 11:30 pm   #71
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,355
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

I'm not quite sure how you managed to find a faulty 100pF using an ESR meter, but well done anyway!
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2019, 6:41 am   #72
RogerEvans
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 188
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

I have to admit that when I replied with the details of C561 I couldn't see why an open circuit C561 would stop the normal operation of the sweep generator. The circuitry to the right of C561 is just the manual reset for single sweep operation. If C561 were short circuit it might change the bias of Q575 to the point where the sweep reset multivibrator would not switch. I would be happy to be enlightened on this in case I am missing something obvious.

Roger
RogerEvans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2019, 9:48 am   #73
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo1152 View Post
I'm not quite sure how you managed to find a faulty 100pF using an ESR meter, but well done anyway!
well on most of the caps i did have about 2 degrees meter deflection that showed they were at least passing some ac,it was not possible to measure the actual esr,the bad one had no meter deflection,i just used it to find which ones to remove from the pcb to test further,mine is analoge,i doubht it would work for a digital meter or one that uses a test signal greater than 300mv peak to peak.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerEvans View Post
I have to admit that when I replied with the details of C561 I couldn't see why an open circuit C561 would stop the normal operation of the sweep generator. The circuitry to the right of C561 is just the manual reset for single sweep operation. If C561 were short circuit it might change the bias of Q575 to the point where the sweep reset multivibrator would not switch. I would be happy to be enlightened on this in case I am missing something obvious.
i havent a clue i just know replacing it fixed the scope,tbh tho i think it was more luck than judgement !!
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2019, 9:52 am   #74
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

for anyone interested the esr meter i used was from the theread here,word of warning tho use pdiddys pcd artwork,the other is wrong,even the revised one.https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projec...er-design/250/
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2019, 12:43 pm   #75
ColinTheAmpMan1
Heptode
 
ColinTheAmpMan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wimbledon, London, UK.
Posts: 972
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerEvans View Post
C561, 100pF 200V 5% ceramic? I don't have the correct manual but the position on the A sweep board and the markings seem to correspond. Connects to Q564 collector.

Roger
That's what my Service Manual shows, too. For future reference, my manual is 070-0755-00. It was originally printed in Beaverton and covers scopes above S/N 20,000. It has been overprinted in some places, including the front page, where "GSY S/N 100200 UP" indicates that it was originally for a Guernsey-built 453. My 453 is S/N 102671.

Colin.
ColinTheAmpMan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Aug 2019, 2:20 pm   #76
WME_bill
Octode
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Tek453.
I am as puzzled as Roger Evans about how replacing C561 could make the Time Base work.
Are you sure you didn't move any of the controls. Or maybe manipulating the board to solder the faulty capacitor affected a dry joint or cracked pcb track.
Could M3VUV51 please help us out.
wme_bill
WME_bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 9:03 am   #77
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

nope nothing was moved just replaced the cap,all solder joints look fine and no cracks in the boards,as a matter of fact they almost look as new.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 9:35 am   #78
ajgriff
Heptode
 
ajgriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 620
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

Looking at the second photo attached to post #68 it's clear that the timebase board was released from its mountings and moved around to allow replacement of the capacitor. I'd venture to suggest that this manipulation may have cured a poor connection (flying leads perhaps) which was preventing the sweep from functioning. Like others I can't see how the ceramic capacitor could have been the cause of the original problem. Glad the scope is working again now anyway.

Alan
ajgriff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 1:19 pm   #79
M3VUV51
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Horncastle, Lincolnshire, UK.
Posts: 202
Default Re: Tektronix 453 poorly.

i cant see that to be honest as i had pulled all the leads off the pins 1 by one and cleaned them,it was one of the first things i did.
M3VUV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.