UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Mar 2010, 9:36 pm   #1
Al-wood
Retired Dormant Member

Default Michaelson and Austin TVA 1 Bias Help

Hi
I have acquired a Michaelson and Austin TVA 1 Valve power amp and wonder
if there is anyone of you in the West Yorkshire area who can set the bias on this amp for me ?
I have no equipment or knowledge of how to do this, and have been trying through research on the net to get a better understanding of what I have got and how to maintain it. I can travel with amp, I am based in Huddersfield.
Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated

Am very happy to pay for the work doing the way.

Many Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Allan
Old 19th Oct 2011, 4:06 pm   #2
leakstereo20
Retired Dormant Member

Question Tva-1

HI Allan,

I own a very good looking Michaelson & Austin TVA-1 no. 553, an erly model. A lot of soldering jobs inside made it impossible for me to figure out the original hardwiring as far as the ground connections was concerned. I could not see where the chassis connection originally was located...was it close to the RCA screen's behind the driverboard...or close to the large PSU capacitors...did M&A make floating ground...no? There must have been a central ground point (starground) ? Could you show me pictures of the TVA-1 groundwires ( normally black wires)?

If you ( or someone in this forum) could help me on this one, by looking at your own TVA-1, I could advice you the bias for your TVA-1 / (Mentmore) depending on the cathode resistor, and also one way to keep your KT88's alive a little longer by change of the resistance between the signal screen of the KT88's to ground.