UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Jan 2007, 10:43 am   #1
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,407
Default Maplin UHF Modulator

Hi Everyone.

Just checked my local Maplin for the stock of above and they have plenty.
I want to use it in conjunction with a freeview box and DVD player.
Anyone got one of these modulators? What are they like cos I am just about to nip out and get one I think.

Cheers all

Lee
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline  
Old 7th Jan 2007, 1:55 pm   #2
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

hello I have the cheaper of the 2 Maplin sell (without display) at they are very good, apart from they when connected they output a mildly anoying noise from the tv speaker when there is no sound (when people stop speaking or a setup menu is displayed for example) I use it to connect a freeview box or DVD to the workshop telly and have learned to ignore the nosie. The picture is very good and will work well with a long cable on the uhf output. They are also very easy to use.

matty
matthewhouse is offline  
Old 7th Jan 2007, 2:02 pm   #3
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,407
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Hi Matty,

I have got my modulator and yep.... mine also makes that hi pitch noise through the telly speaker when no audio is present.

Cheers Lee
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline  
Old 7th Jan 2007, 7:06 pm   #4
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

well after seeing this I decided to lift the lid and have a poke around. Nasty noise now gone!! (well not audiable at normal listening levels anymore anyway )

I have attached some pictures of the dodgy modification. I don't know what I have done, why it works or what I have connected to. (The 'tuner' can be removed with screw between uhf connectors ans internal plug removed, PCB then lifts out after screws are released) The two caps I fitted were not specifically chosen, they were just two that were laying on the bench at the time from a radio repair. different values do change/reduce the noise in different ways so with a bit of a fiddle you should be able to almost eliminate the sound. What I have fitted is good enough for me tho! Voltage between the screened case and the wire originally connected to it and the PCB is 5V. I don't know how this is possible because the soldered wire and tuner are both connected to earth? Or should be, perhaps this is the original cause of the squealing. I'm going to poke around again to see what happens when everything is connected well. This unit wont work without an earth connection. The bigger capacitor removed most of the squeal and the smaller capacitor reduced the remaining noise. Someone more technical will know why.

If you decide to do the same I take no responsibility should loss, damage, fire, injury or death occur from modifying this equipment in ways it was never designed. I am not qualified in electronics so fiddle at your own risk. This will obviously void the guarantee too.

Matty
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bodge 1.jpg
Views:	438
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	7601   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bodge 2.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	188.7 KB
ID:	7602  
matthewhouse is offline  
Old 8th Jan 2007, 3:48 pm   #5
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,515
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

All you have done is put a spot of decoupling in the unit - it probably needed it!

i would swap the capacitors for ones that are a little less extravagant!

Shorter lead length would be a good idea.....

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 8th Jan 2007, 6:16 pm   #6
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Oh, so that's what I've done! Yes different capacitors might be a better idea! I was in bodge mode yesterday

Cheers
Matty
matthewhouse is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 1:13 am   #7
ben
Dekatron
 
ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain / Wirral, UK
Posts: 7,465
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

I hope you didn't pay 30 quid for that, when you can get one out of an old video for next to nowt (and use an old mobile charger to power it with)
ben is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 9:40 am   #8
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,407
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Nice one Matty,

I will try that mod tonight. I actually think these modulators are worth the money. I am certainly pleased with mine!

Cheers
Lee
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 11:19 am   #9
oldeurope
Retired Dormant Member
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Question Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Hi,
does this modulator cover the low VHF channels or is it UHF only?
Is there space for this PCB?
http://bs.cyty.com/menschen/e-etzold.../uvb/uvb_e.htm

Kind regards,
Darius
oldeurope is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 1:35 pm   #10
Hunts smoothing bomb
Octode
 
Hunts smoothing bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wimborne, Dorset, UK.
Posts: 1,407
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Hi Darius,

No, I'm afraid it is UHF only.
It has dip switches though so you can select any channel between 21-69.

Cheers
Lee
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uhf1.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	11.3 KB
ID:	7631   Click image for larger version

Name:	uhf2.jpg
Views:	166
Size:	9.6 KB
ID:	7632  
__________________
Lee
Hunts smoothing bomb is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 3:07 pm   #11
oldeurope
Retired Dormant Member
 
oldeurope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Solingen, Germany
Posts: 727
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunts smoothing bomb View Post
Hi Darius,

No, I'm afraid it is UHF only.
It has dip switches though so you can select any channel between 21-69.

Cheers
Lee
So it is the same like using a DVBT set top box with build in modulator. I have a homecast T3000 here, in the onscreen menue you can choose all UHF channels and sound settings.
Darius
oldeurope is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 10:24 pm   #12
Focus Diode
Octode
 
Focus Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Borough of Gateshead, UK.
Posts: 1,420
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

I have one of these smashing little boxes Lee has, although the brightness control is a user pot rather than a pre-set. Never any trouble with it.

It's nice to know they're making such units, although some may argue £29.99 is a bit pricy, intended for products made without SCART connectors, which goes for all vintage equipment. Pre-set tuning throughout the UHF band is also an added bonus.

Highly recommended.

Brian
Focus Diode is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 10:30 pm   #13
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 17,731
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focus Diode View Post
some may argue £29.99 is a bit pricy
Not when CPC are selling the same unit (code AV07781) for £30.40 +VAT

On the other hand, they do sell a ch.36-only one with SCART input for just £9.52 + VAT (AV10363).
Nickthedentist is offline  
Old 9th Jan 2007, 11:32 pm   #14
chipp1968
Rest in Peace
 
chipp1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somerset, UK.
Posts: 2,356
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

I mentioned earlier in this section I have a UHF agile modulator by shinybow whoever they are ? model sb-4300 pal1 from maplains , i think this was just under £20
chipp1968 is offline  
Old 21st Nov 2007, 7:17 pm   #15
Chris-G8ETC
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Epsom, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 30
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

I have been using a Maplin UHF Modulator most evenings for the last 5 or 6 weeks ever since I purchased it new. Up until last weekend it performed perfectly satisfactorily, but has now developed that "annoying noise" referred to in previous postings of this thread. To save me reinventing the wheel, has anyone investigated the cause of this problem and produced an alternative cure, or is the solution still simply to fit a couple of decoupling capacitors to the supply rail?

I suspect the cure is still to add the decoupling capacitors, but thanks in anticipation anyway.
Chris-G8ETC is offline  
Old 1st Dec 2007, 1:23 am   #16
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris-G8ETC View Post
To save me reinventing the wheel, has anyone investigated the cause of this problem and produced an alternative cure, or is the solution still simply to fit a couple of decoupling capacitors to the supply rail?
The easiest option is to throw it away and buy one of the cheapo £9.52 CPC ones, they work perfectly, as well as being cheaper. The channel is preset to 36 and it blocks the aerial input when a video signal is present so these cheap ones can't be daisy chained to connect several sources to an aerial distribution system for example. I still have the extra caps in my Maplin one and it seems to be working OK, it's not perfect tho.
Not much help there I'm afraid.
matthewhouse is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2007, 6:24 pm   #17
HMV 1120
Hexode
 
HMV 1120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Weeting, Norfolk.
Posts: 465
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Could I use one of these to send video to my scartless portable TV? Or could I somehow rig the video players internal modulator to length of wire and 'broadcast' the signal?

Yours cluelessly, Rob.
__________________
Real radios glow in the dark
M6GLD
HMV 1120 is offline  
Old 2nd Dec 2007, 8:05 pm   #18
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

That's what they are designed for, connecting scart equipment (composite video only) to TV's without a scart socket. It simply connects to the aerial socket on the TV. A VCR connected to the aerial socket on the TV will do the same thing, just connect the scart equipment to the VCR and select AV on the VCR to view on the TV.
matthewhouse is offline  
Old 3rd Dec 2007, 2:40 pm   #19
Tazman1966
Nonode
 
Tazman1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St Albans, Herts, UK.
Posts: 2,193
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewhouse View Post
The easiest option is to throw it away and buy one of the cheapo £9.52 CPC ones, they work perfectly, as well as being cheaper. The channel is preset to 36 and it blocks the aerial input when a video signal is present so these cheap ones can't be daisy chained to connect several sources to an aerial distribution system for example. I still have the extra caps in my Maplin one and it seems to be working OK, it's not perfect tho.
Not much help there I'm afraid.
I wouldn't if I were you The CPC £9.52 ones are not all that good. The contrast is a bit on the weak side whatever impedance setting is selected and the sound has a distinct lack of bass. I think Mikey405 has found the same thing with his and he has two. They also tend to cause weak sync on certain sets.

I get much better results from old VCR modulators.

Hope this info helps.
__________________
All the very best,
Tas
Tazman1966 is offline  
Old 3rd Dec 2007, 9:22 pm   #20
matthewhouse
Octode
 
matthewhouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willand, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Maplin UHF Modulator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazman1966 View Post
I wouldn't if I were you The CPC £9.52 ones are not all that good. The contrast is a bit on the weak side whatever impedance setting is selected
Ohh! I thought the Hitachi Instavision thing I had this connected to was just getting old, perhaps thats why the contrast isn't so good! With the amount of water that keeps entering the TV I thought nothing of it . I'll have to check that now.
matthewhouse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:16 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2023, Paul Stenning.