UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 20th Feb 2011, 10:25 pm   #1
melitus54
Retired Dormant Member

Default Tracing a BSR Embassy 4 star tape recorder

I have a BSR Embassy **** Tape recorder and I need to know where I can find a link, manual or if you have any information as I need to change the capacitor as it is giving out a high pitched sound if I try to put the volume up.
Do you anything on this model as I believe it is an early 60s model. the colours are cream and orange.
I use it in exhibitions on the Beatles as I play the original reel to reel by the Beatles.
Can you help me please?

Thank you.

Regards
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	The Embassy Tape Recorder..jpg
Views:	648
Size:	78.6 KB
ID:	47120  
Old 21st Feb 2011, 1:25 pm   #2
Brian R Pateman
Nonode

Default Re: Tracing a BSR Embassy 4 star tape recorder

The tape deck is BSR (TD2 I think) but the rest of the machine could be by any one of a number of companies. It looks almost identical to one my father had which was marketed by a retailer called Gamages in London. There were many of these budget machines under a variety of badges, often sold mail order in the Sunday papers or the magazines of the time, Practical Wireless for example.

If I'm correct your machine will have a compartment in the back with a sliding cover intended to house the microphone and mains lead.

The circuits were all very similar and decidedly basic. They gave hours of entertainment though.
Old 21st Feb 2011, 1:47 pm   #3
BillDWVA
Pentode