UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3rd Sep 2022, 4:48 pm   #1
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Power connector Marantz CDR 1

The schaffner power connector of my CDR-1 went up in smoke.

question 1: is this repairable ? and how ?

question 2: Does anyone know which model it exact is ?
I can not find the right model number on the web.

question 3: does anyone have a link to a supplier that sells this model ?

thanks in advance

Rafalow
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1662223149838.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	264182   Click image for larger version

Name:	1662223149847.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	264183   Click image for larger version

Name:	1662223149856.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	53.3 KB
ID:	264184   Click image for larger version

Name:	1662223149865.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	264185  

Last edited by rafalow; 3rd Sep 2022 at 4:49 pm. Reason: adding photo
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2022, 5:09 pm   #2
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 4,673
Default Re: power connector Marantz cdr 1

There was one of those metalised paper capacitors inside that can, and we all know what they do....

When this happened to me on a piece of vintage computer hardware(slightly different model of mains inlet, but still with the fuseholders and voltage selector), I cut the metal can and peeled it off. Inside was a block of potting compound containingg the filter components, I carefully cut this away too, leaving the input plug, fuseholders and voltage selector intact.

I then added a mains filter module (solder tags for input and output) inside the equipment and wired it to the pins of the input plug and the fuseholder, etc.
TonyDuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd Sep 2022, 8:55 pm   #3
ronbryan
Octode
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: power connector Marantz cdr 1

A couple of questions:

Does the Schaffner power entry module have 5mmx20mm fuses or 6.3mmx32mm?

Can the module be adjusted for 100/120/230/240V AC supplies?

Ron
ronbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Sep 2022, 9:48 pm   #4
Analogue man
Pentode
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Raunds, Northamptonshire, UK.
Posts: 166
Default Re: power connector Marantz cdr 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronbryan View Post
A couple of questions:

Does the Schaffner power entry module have 5mmx20mm fuses or 6.3mmx32mm?

Can the module be adjusted for 100/120/230/240V AC supplies?

Ron
To the first question 5x20 I believe and to the second you would not normally need to as the components would be rated for the higher voltage.
__________________
Graham
Analogue man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2022, 11:32 am   #5
G6fylneil
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coventry, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Those "Schaffner 370 series" modules use 1 or 2 fuses (like yours) and can be either 20mm or 32mm fuses depending on the carriers, which are interchangeable. Some types are obsolete and you would have to select a replacement from those currently available. They are still readily available. They have an integrated voltage selector.
G6fylneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th Sep 2022, 12:05 pm   #6
G6fylneil
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coventry, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

I've just looked at the data sheet and realised that it doesn't show how the "door" opens hence the question about fuse size and voltage adjustment from Rafalow.
G6fylneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Sep 2022, 7:54 pm   #7
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Thanks to you all for the replies.

the Schaffner power entry module has 5mmx20mm fuses and the module can be adjusted for 100/120/230/240V AC supplies?.

The number on the schematics is not printed on the newer model fn378-2 /21or 22
that is why i need your help.
I find it hard to understand the data sheet and the schematic , however i know how to solder and do the replacement myself.
I found the datasheet (which I will attach)
Is the fn379 mounted in the CDR-1 a standard model according the datasheet ??
Or is it a custom produced product for marantz..?

Can I use the standard model according the info from the datasheet.?

thanks in advance

Rafalow
Attached Files
File Type: pdf FN370.pdf (3.14 MB, 3 views)
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Sep 2022, 9:48 pm   #8
ronbryan
Octode
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

I think your old (faulty) unit was a custom variation on the FN379B series, as it has a 220V value on the adjustable mains voltage selector and the current data sheet lists only 100/120/230/240V.

The nearest part number to your unit is FN379B-2-21
The suppliers like Mouser and Digi-Key have stock of the FN379B-2-22, which has the 6.3mm x 32mm fuses. If you keep the old 20mm fuseholder, it will likely fit in the new unit as G6fylneil has stated.

Ron
ronbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2022, 3:27 am   #9
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 4,673
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

You may well find that the only difference between the old and new voltage selector drums is whether it has '220' or '230' printed on it, and that the original drum fits the new unit.
TonyDuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2022, 4:07 am   #10
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Thank you,

So bottom conclusion is.
correct me if I am wrong.

The data sheet compared to the schematics on the faulty unit is identical ?
The innner components are alike ?

only choice I have is the size of the fuse.
replacing the unit with a new stock fn 379 can do no harm to the CDR 1.

Kind regards
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2022, 8:06 am   #11
ronbryan
Octode
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 1,878
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

The important issue with the part number is that the FN379B-2 variant is used, as the 'B' indicates the medical version, without the two 'Y' capacitors and with a bleed resistor added.

Ron
ronbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2022, 8:08 am   #12
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Thanks,

But can i install the fn379b ?
I can buy one online...will it not damage the cdr1

Regards
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th Sep 2022, 4:35 pm   #13
G6fylneil
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coventry, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

I think that the FN379B in your CDR was a standard variant at the time it was produced. I have two FN370 series inlets in equipment built in the 1990s, both have "220V" positions.
G6fylneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2022, 4:24 am   #14
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Thanks,

is there a schematic printed on your fn370 aswell ?

rafalow
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2022, 12:13 pm   #15
G6fylneil
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Coventry, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 90
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Yes, I assume they all have. It is standard industry practice. Mine are not "medical grade" The filter schematic on your filter is the same as that on the current data sheet. The voltage selector "drum" can only select from the options offered by the transformer in the CDR1 it is connected to.
G6fylneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Sep 2022, 12:39 pm   #16
rafalow
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Hoofddorp, Netherlands
Posts: 11
Default Re: Power connector Marantz CDR 1

Thank you

This is what i like to hear.

The filter schematic on your filter is the same as that on the current data sheet.

That means that i can replace the inlet without any problem.

Thanks you all for the help.

Kind regards
rafalow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 7:10 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.