UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th May 2017, 11:45 am   #1
howards
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whiston, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

I now have my father's Bush TV22, it was bought new in 1953 and only used for a few hours a night for around 12 months when he was diagnosed with TB, my mother put the set into storage in the attic where it has remained for the last 63 years and it is in pristine condition, all valves are lit including the tube, tuner and amplifier appear to be working OK, but no EHT to the side of the tube, can any one help as I would really like to be able to use this with a video or something else, if this was a valve amplifier I would be able to fix the problem but never worked on valve TV. Howard.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 11:52 am   #2
slidertogrid
Heptode
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 650
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Hi You will need a standards converter to operate this set as it is 405 line.
The most probable cause of your problem is leaky or shorted wax capacitors.
They will all need changing for reliable results. There are a couple that are easily missed behind the tag board if I remember correctly.
Regards
Rich.
__________________
You can't turn back the clock..... But you can wind it up again !
slidertogrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 11:58 am   #3
Dickie
Heptode
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: St. Albans, Hertfordshire, UK.
Posts: 759
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Also any hint of damp in the LOPT will upset EHT generation. There's plenty of advice on the forum about how to dry it out.
__________________
Regards,

Richard, BVWS member
Dickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 3:45 pm   #4
Lloyd 1985
Octode
 
Lloyd 1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coningsby, Lincolnshire. UK.
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

If there is no EHT, take a look at the EHT rectifier valve, it's tacked on the side of the line output transformer, make sure it's connections are good, and see if you can see the heater lighting in the valve. The heater for this valve is powered by the winding on the top of the transformer, check this for continuity, which will only be a few ohms. If the line output stage isn't running well (because of leaky caps or damp transformer, as mentioned above) then there may not be enough power to heat the EHT rectifier, which will stop any EHT reaching the tube.

Regards,
Lloyd.
Lloyd 1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 4:05 pm   #5
Voxophone
Hexode
 
Voxophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

How have you determined that there is definately no EHT? Can you hear a line whistle?
Voxophone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2017, 7:45 pm   #6
howards
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whiston, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Silent no whistle, also rectifier valve on side of line output transformer is not lighting up, Howard.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 11:06 am   #7
Rik1967
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Isle of Wight, UK.
Posts: 14
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Hi there, I am in the middle of restoring my TV22, I have had 2 transformers re wound,
(line osc etc) and replaced almost all capacitors, as 90% were dud
It wasn't a difficult job, and also found lots of resistors faulty. I would advise you change the caps one by one.
If the line output tramsformer has gone, it can be re wound, but I think you should replace the caps as the previous replies suggest. No line could be one , of many faults.
PM me if you get stuck as Im on the same learning curve!! Lots of info about this set available.
Good Luck Richard.
Rik1967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 2:02 pm   #8
howards
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whiston, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Thanks to every one for the info, Regards Howard.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 3:06 pm   #9
Voxophone
Hexode
 
Voxophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

If you're going to replace the wax caps in stages with power-ups in between, it would be a good idea to prioritise the four or so caps connected across the heater chain. If any of these fails short-circuit it could stress or burn out a few valve filaments.

The grid coupling cap to the line output valve should also be prioritised for the sake of the LOPT.

This is the advice I was given when restoring my TV22.

Edit - Which model TV22 is yours by the way? The service information differs between the Mk 1 and Mk 2, and the latter also had a couple of subtypes. I think the Mk 2 may have been introduced sometime in 1953 so yours could possibly be either.

Liam

Last edited by Voxophone; 18th May 2017 at 3:17 pm.
Voxophone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 9:02 pm   #10
howards
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whiston, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

How can i tell if it is a mk1 or 2 ?, Howard.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2017, 10:26 pm   #11
Lloyd 1985
Octode
 
Lloyd 1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coningsby, Lincolnshire. UK.
Posts: 1,111
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

If I remember right, the Mk 1 has EF91 valves on the RF deck, and the Mk 2 has EF80's. Also the CRT, in the Mk 1 it will be a Mullard MW22-18, and the Mk 2 will be a Mullard MW22-16 with ion trap magnet.

Just to add to this, there was also a model TV22 A, which is completely different to the above! If it's a TV22 A it will say on the back.

Best way is to take a picture of the inside and post it here, one of us will be able to identify it.

Regards,
Lloyd.
Lloyd 1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 3:50 pm   #12
Voxophone
Hexode
 
Voxophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 254
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

This page has a lot of information on line output and EHT problems which may be useful: http://www.oldtellys.co.uk/otltbeht.html

Liam
Voxophone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 4:29 pm   #13
Ian - G4JQT
Heptode
 
Ian - G4JQT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reading/Fakenham, UK.
Posts: 671
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Here is some data I collated for the TV22/24 Mk I and II. It states Mk II in the document, but the LOPT electrical characteristics for Mk I and Mk II models are the same. However as already stated, I can confirm that the TV22A/TV24A have completely different LOPTs.

Hope someone finds the info useful.

Ian
Attached Files
File Type: pdf TV22 lopt info.pdf (49.0 KB, 29 views)
Ian - G4JQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2017, 8:56 pm   #14
howards
Triode
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Whiston, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Re: Bush TV 22 no line output voltage

Thanks for that info, it is a MK2, Howard.
howards is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2017, Paul Stenning.