UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Nov 2018, 2:09 am   #1
regenfreak
Heptode

Default Osram Music Magnet 4

Hi
It's my first post here. I have purchased an Osram Music Magnet 4 TRF. The seller sold it as seen. This is my first vintage radio and also the first restoration project. I have obtained the circuit diagrams with the kind help of Bill the moderator here.

My set has two PM12A RF amp, PM2A grid leak detector, PM1LF audio output amp.

I have tested all capacitors, they seem to be ok. Grid leak capacitor 364pF. Grid resistor 2.64MOhms and audio bypass cap 2.7microfarads. It even came with the original grid battery.

I am new to radio electronics but I have been building a quite a few homebrew regenerative radios for a few months and have a good collection of battery radio valves mostly American and European types.

For this radio, I have purchased the Vellman signal tracer/inject and the Cyclon 2v 5AH for the filaments. I have also ordered a new old stock PM12M in case the original ones are no good.

Without the valve tester, I am going to build single valve regen radio on a breadboard to check the RF valves one-by-one. I have made a working audio amplifier for the PM1LF that came with the radio.

I have a few questions here and hope I can get some advice here:

1. The original Gecophone interstage transformer has the secondary open circuit. The primary has DC resistance of 1784 ohms. This is bad news.

I read this is very common. Lucky I have purchased a 1920's Peerless 3.5: 1 interstage transformer imported from USA. They are very hard to find and expensive.