UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Jul 2004, 12:50 pm   #1
radiosaddo

Default Aligning without an analogue AVO meter?

I'm new round here, hello

I have been repairing valve radios for a couple of years now and am ofcourse, still learing, and enjoying...

As my work is in instrumentation, we use Fluke DMMS and I use one for my radio repairs.

I keep reading stuff like " ..you must use an AVO... " or " ..using your AVO do this... " mainly with radio alignment.
Maybe I have been lucky, but I have never needed to align anything, and was wondering if an AVO is vital for this purpose. I do own a cheap Micronta analogue meter which sits and gathers dust, would that do??

Sorry for this long and daft question, I have a radio which I think needs alignment, I also own an Advance signal generator, so I have (I think) most of what I need.

I have, ofcourse, read the main website here, and other places on the internet, and it all points to AVO's....

Any comments most welcome from you more experienced hands

Old 9th Jul 2004, 1:13 pm   #2
Radio_Dave
Nonode

Default Re: Anyone here who doesn't use an analogue AVO me

Hi,

I think you'll get lots of replies to this one! I use a DMM 99% of the time. I have a couple of AVO model 8's which are great pieces of kit but are just not as easy to use as DMM's. I do use them If a DMM gives a strange reading though

You must use an analogue meter for checking output when aligning, I use an AVO but your cheap one will be fine. I use an Advance E2 sig gen and I think it's great, its obviously not as accurate as newer stuff but it's the type of kit that was used to align valve radios so it must be ok