UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Repair and Restoration Services Wanted

Notices

Repair and Restoration Services Wanted If you need someone to repair or restore equipment for you please post your request here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Oct 2019, 12:31 pm   #1
vids1963
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Saint Neots, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 4
Default Tube and chassis ID ?

Hello all,
I'm trying to find out about this tube and chassis, it came out of an arcade cabinet. I've been told it's maybe a TX9 or 10, not sure what that is exactly. It is not working, so another question is can anyone repair it for me?
vids1963 is offline  
Old 27th Oct 2019, 3:06 pm   #2
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 8,911
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

It's a TV chassis.
First things first, can you post a picture or two and describe the symptoms, unless it's completely dead of course.
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is online now  
Old 27th Oct 2019, 4:05 pm   #3
slidertogrid
Octode
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 1,160
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

It should be easy to identify from google images as the Tx9 and Tx10 chassis look totally different.
There are a few versions of each chassis as they had a long production life but the basic layout stayed pretty much the same.
Both chassis were reliable and easy to repair but that was a long while ago now...
slidertogrid is offline  
Old 27th Oct 2019, 4:24 pm   #4
Clydeuk
Hexode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

I used to service arcade monitors and have never seen a domestic television chassis used in one. Names I can remember from the 90's were Hantarex and Wells-Gardner. A photo might jog the memory.
Clydeuk is offline  
Old 27th Oct 2019, 5:27 pm   #5
vids1963
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Saint Neots, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

Thanks for the replies fellas managed to stick a picture up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	48968067463_dec7bc61c5_c.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	191.8 KB
ID:	192591  

Last edited by Station X; 29th Oct 2019 at 9:06 am. Reason: Linked image converted to thumbnail.
vids1963 is offline  
Old 27th Oct 2019, 6:44 pm   #6
Clydeuk
Hexode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 422
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

It's a TX9 chassis. I'm not sure this would be the original chassis if it came from an arcade cabinet. I notice there is no tuner or IF circuitry, but the PAL circuitry is still there, which would be unneccesary for a RGB monitor. Maybe someone fitted it in place of the original chassis.

I'm no expert on arcade cabinets though, I just used to do work for some local arcades to supplement TV repair work in the 90's
Clydeuk is offline  
Old 28th Oct 2019, 1:40 pm   #7
Welsh Anorak
Dekatron
 
Welsh Anorak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Wales, UK.
Posts: 4,925
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

We did a few arcade monitors under duress, I have to say. You never quite knew what you'd find lurking in there, and whether they would be 110v or 240v. Lots of Hantarex, of course, and another Italian make I forget. Occasionally a Thorn TX would turn up, suitably modified. My (sort of) favourite was a Thorn 1500 with coloured strips over the CRT to give the impression of colour - fooled me until I opened it up! Very odd to see a board full of TTL and CMOS driving a good old valved chassis.
__________________
Glyn
www.gdelectronics.wales
Welsh Anorak is offline  
Old 28th Oct 2019, 10:25 pm   #8
ben
Dekatron
 
ben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain / Wirral, UK
Posts: 5,959
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

Barco and Seleco made them too.
__________________
Regards,
Ben.
ben is offline  
Old 29th Oct 2019, 8:09 am   #9
vids1963
Diode
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Saint Neots, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AC/HL View Post
It's a TV chassis.
First things first, can you post a picture or two and describe the symptoms, unless it's completely dead of course.
Hi Bill,

I'ts been identified as a TX9 chassis, it displays a thin horizontal line right across the middle of the screen anyone here able to repair it for me?

Thank you for the help
vids1963 is offline  
Old 29th Oct 2019, 4:11 pm   #10
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 8,911
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

Thread moved to the relevant section.
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is online now  
Old 1st Nov 2019, 8:35 am   #11
Michael Maurice
Moderator
 
Michael Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wembley, Middlesex
Posts: 6,176
Default Re: Tube and chassis ID ?

I can repair this for you, please send me a PM.
__________________
Forum Moderator

http://www.michaelmauricerepairs.co.uk/
Michael Maurice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 2:21 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.