UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Apr 2017, 7:32 pm   #1
harleyford
Diode

Default Fidelity HF45 has started buzzing

Folks

I'm new to UK Vintage Radio. I am the owner of a Fidelity HF45 record player and am respectively seek advice from knowledgeable forum members...

I acquired the unit a few weeks back. It was a gift for teenage daughter fascinated with vinyl. Myself, I'm personally of the age where we used to throw these in the skip. I'm astounded they're now collectable. Anyway it was working faultlessly until recently when it started producing a continuous buzzing sound:

https://youtu.be/mPs9PZ6F-LA

Attached are images of the circuitry which seems simplistic. I can only presume there is a failure in one of the components; capacitor, rectifier, IC, but have no idea. Any help to diagnose would really be appreciated.

What I know is before it failed, my kids had left it switched on for a couple of weeks (they hadn't switched off at the plug and hadn't realised the volume control was a dual function power switch). I noticed it had been left on when I heard background hum. Perhaps this extended loading finally killed off an electronic component that hadn't been used in two decades.

If it's a simple matter of replacing a capacitor, or other, I have enough soldering skills, but don't know if diagnosis can be that straightforward that forum members can suggest a fix.

Any help greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1090.jpg
Views:	550
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	141357   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1092.jpg
Views:	507
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	141358