UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 1st May 2018, 2:37 pm   #1
Mitchvan
Retired Dormant Member

Default Fidelity HF42/45 Volume problems (newbie)

Hi, I am a Newbie so please bear with me.

I have just got my grans old Fidelity HF45 up and running (with the aid of WD40 and a new stylus).

The mechanism works well but the volume has issues.

1. There is a hum - It could be a mains hum, or dodgy capacitors - I have ordered replacement bridge rectifier and smoothing capacitor and a few other which I will fit. I can live with the hum but the volume is dodgy.

2. Volume is all or nothing - The volume control is just has a no sound at all (except static crackles and noises) until you get the knob to about half way then there is a millimetre of full volume, the nothing to the other end of the dial. When I turn it off the player at the socket and turn the dial slowly I hear a click just before half way. I can't help thinking it is an issue with the knob itself but as I say I am a newbie with no electrical experience. Can you buy new volume controls if so from where?

3. Tone is practically useless - it has little or no effect on the sound. It does sometime work by dulling the full volume millimetre....

I am assuming the cartridge is fine or there would be no sound at all

Question - there is a red, white, green and black wire on the arm. Only two are connected is this correct?

Please help.

Thanks
Ian
Old 1st May 2018, 5:03 pm   #2
Edward Huggins
Dekatron

Default Re: Fidelity HF42/45 Volume problems (newbie)