UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Jun 2017, 8:18 pm   #1
12jslater
Pentode

Default Distortion On Pre War Defiant MSH920 Radio.

I have been using my pre war defiant everyday for the past 3 months since its restoration, it is a proper work horse of a set and when I switched it on yesterday the audio had distortion in a similar way to when audio peaks. Or like when a microphone try's to record with to high of a volume input.

It has been totally recapped and 2 of the resistors were replaced in the restoration.

Help would be appreciated,

Thanks, Jake
Old 19th Jun 2017, 10:18 pm   #2
Silicon
Nonode

Default Re: Distortion On Pre War Defiant Radio

Have you tried an external speaker?

I don't have a schematic but it seems to be a 'short superhet'.
Valves are FC4, ACVP1, AC2/PenDD and a UU4.
Old 19th Jun 2017, 10:20 pm   #3
12jslater
Pentode

Yes. I tried one of my hi fi speakers and still the same sound.
Old 19th Jun 2017, 10:49 pm   #4
Steve_P
Dekatron

I have not got the circuit to hand either - sorry. But does this set have a Gram input. If it does see what happens when you feed a signal in there.

If it still sounds bad look around the AC2/PenDD. The manual is not up top - I just looked - but the voltages are here: http://www.r-type.org/exhib/aaq0304.htm

I hope the Output Transformer is OK!

If it is OK then the diodes in the AC2 may be bad but please look at the IF valve - ACVP1.

If you are listening to Radio 4 then try other stations as R4 tends to have sibilance problems.

Cheers,

Steve P.
Old 20th Jun 2017, 9:38 am   #5
Leon Crampin
Octode

Default Re: Distortion On Pre War Defiant MSH920 Radio.