UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 14th Jun 2017, 5:55 pm   #1
joe-m60
Retired Dormant Member

Default Bush DAC10 lamp problem.

Recently picked up a DAC10 cheaply due to the back being damaged and in need of gluing in a few places, radio looks fine sat on shelf. I replaced the mains lead and the wax caps, with the new caps radio sounded much better and played much louder without distorting as it did before.

Only problem is after the radio has been on for about 30 min the lamps go out, changed lamps same result. This is my first attempt at working on a valve radio so would be grateful for some advice.
Old 14th Jun 2017, 7:02 pm   #2
Station X

Default Re: Bush DAC10 lamp problem.

The correct lamps for this set are 3.5V, 0.15A. Not easily obtained, so I expect you fitted something different.

Is the voltage selector set correctly?

Is the shunt resistor (250R) measuring correctly?

When you say the lamps go out do they actually blow? Being in series I'd expect only one of the pair to fail.

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 14th Jun 2017, 10:44 pm   #3
joe-m60
Retired Dormant Member

I found the correct lamps on ebay problem happens with original and new lamps, the shunt resistor is a 75 ohms resistor. The lamps do not blow they just stop working after 30 mins or so, I listen to this radio most days and the lamps go out after about 30 mins every time but the radio keeps working without problem.
Old 15th Jun 2017, 8:59 am   #4
Station X

Same as the DAC90A arrangement then. Manufacturer's circuit shows 250R, but 75R is fitted. The fact that the radio carries on working without the lamps shows this resistor is OK.