UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Nov 2018, 6:39 pm   #1
Wendymott
Octode

Default Turns ratio of RF transformers.

Hi Peeps. Now please understand..when it comes to deep RF Theory and maths.. I am a complete novice.. and I wondered if you learned peeps might give me a helping hand.
I have gone back to my multiband HF SSB Transceiver.. and I would like to optomise or nearly, using... my component stock, without excessive purchasing for "one off" bits.
80M Filter. I wound T1 with 35T on a 421 Toko former and it is resonant at 3.65 Mhz with a 56pf cap. The reactance I calculated was 780R. Thus if I want a 50R input winding..I did the following.. 780R / 50R = 15.6 Thus 35T / 15.6 = 2.25T
Obviously I would use 2T as 2.25T would be difficult.. However... is my reasoning correct please ??
Also... another problem... The T2 secondary will feed a Plessey SL610 RF Amp, but I cannot decide what the turns ratio should be as there is no definite input impedance of the SL610.. The data sheet states input Admittance of approx "0" at 3 Mhz... but I am unsure how I treat this.. is the 50R suitable.
Now I know I am using antique devices.. but it is better to "recycle" than buy new...and it is not intended as a super douper transceiver as the noise levels at my QTH are abysmal ...about S7 on 40M
Thanks in antisipation
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	80M filter.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	172529  

Regards
Wendy G8BZY
Old 10th Nov 2018, 3:15 pm   #2
G8HQP Dave
Rest in Peace

Default Re: Turns ratio of RF transformers.