UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13th Sep 2017, 9:40 pm   #1
tokafondo
Diode
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Telde, Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain
Posts: 6
Default AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Hi all.

I want to repair a tape deck AIWA AD-R500 I got for 5.

It powers up and when pressed FF or RWD it stops after about 2 seconds.

I opened it (what a cable mess!! and found the belts broken.

I put a new one and after compulsory clean, the same happens.

What can it be?

Thanks.
tokafondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2017, 11:00 pm   #2
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 527
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

On some models there is a sensor on the tape counter to detect if the tape is moving. If that requires a belt change it also. Double-check all the belts and idler.
__________________
Regards,
John
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Sep 2017, 11:40 pm   #3
tokafondo
Diode
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Telde, Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain
Posts: 6
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Thanks and THANKS again. I don't have a belt for it right now, but moved it with my finger and the tape kept rolling!!

Now I have to get a belt for it, 80 mm long and I will continue testing it!!

I'll keep you updated!
tokafondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 12:31 am   #4
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 527
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

__________________
Regards,
John
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 1:46 pm   #5
tokafondo
Diode
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Telde, Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain
Posts: 6
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Now that I have the mechanical part working, there comes the sound quality step.

When playing, a background "taka-taka-taka-taka-taka" is heard.

As I still have the deck disasembled, maybe this is something about the circuits not being properly grounded, isn't it?
tokafondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 5:56 pm   #6
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 527
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Yes that's quite possible. Also, if you have a mobile phone or Wi-Fi router nearby then you may experience interference issues. Check the RCA outputs for cracked solder joints, anyway.

While you're there, spray the long Record/ Play switch and all the rotary controls with a good quality switch cleaner (for example, Servisol). DO NOT use WD-40.
__________________
Regards,
John
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 5:58 pm   #7
Mooly
Heptode
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 514
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

You mean the noise is present on the audio output, and not a mechanical noise.

If so then the first things to try are different tape, and also try loading the motors a little with your finger... see if that alters the level/frequency at all. You can try stalling the take up spool. Any effect ? Also see if the noise is present in pause.

As long as the mech is screwed into the chassis correctly then all should be OK groundwise although I have recollections of having to ground the head plate on an Aiwa ADF770 for some noise related issue.

Try and gather evidence.

Also try playing the tape in another machine, just to be sure this one isn't adding some odd pulses to the tape (which would be bizarre but stranger things have happened).

Record play switches... don't usually cause this type of problem but if it uses the long multiway ones then give them a good workout to and fro (with no tape in the machine).
Mooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 6:57 pm   #8
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 13,079
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mooly View Post
Also try playing the tape in another machine, just to be sure this one isn't adding some odd pulse
Good point. I had this happen with an Aiwa midi system. The pinch roller had a minute blob of oxide embedded in it. The more times a cassette was played, the more clicky it became
Nickthedentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Sep 2017, 7:32 pm   #9
tokafondo
Diode
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Telde, Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain
Posts: 6
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Some pics for your viewing pleasure.

Please take a look at the third picture. There is a button on the left of the METAL button than I haven't seen in other pictures of the same model.

It's not labeled. What can it be for?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC_0025.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	149447   Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC_0026.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	149448   Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC_0027.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	67.5 KB
ID:	149449  
tokafondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2017, 1:48 pm   #10
jamesperrett
Heptode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alresford, Mid Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 691
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

That extra button looks like a modification as it looks like there was some lettering there originally. The hole doesn't have the same plastic surround as all the other holes.
jamesperrett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Sep 2017, 3:16 pm   #11
tokafondo
Diode
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Telde, Las Palmas, Canary Islands, Spain
Posts: 6
Default Re: AIWA AD-R500 stops after a few seconds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesperrett View Post
That extra button looks like a modification as it looks like there was some lettering there originally.
Yes, the indication of "ON - PRESSED / OFF RELEASED" for the "METAL" and "Dolby NR/MPX" buttons.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesperrett View Post
The hole doesn't have the same plastic surround as all the other holes.
The button itself is different, too.

Inside, there are several cables going from it to the main board. The red, orange and brown ones.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC_0036.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	149546   Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC_0035.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	127.5 KB
ID:	149547  
tokafondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:45 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2017, Paul Stenning.