UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Jan 2018, 9:26 pm   #1
angelapantus
Diode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2
Default Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Hi everyone. I have a lovely 1937 GPO king pyramid telephone which has been fully converted. It was working perfectly until my grandson decided to cut the handset cloth cord. I cannot now make a call as there is now no dialling tone. I have purchased a replacement cloth cord, but haven't a clue how to fit it it. I have looked on the internet, YouTube etc. and am unable to find a tutorial. Would be so grateful if anyone can help. Cheers and many thanks.x
angelapantus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2018, 10:15 pm   #2
russell_w_b
Nonode
 
russell_w_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Penrith, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 2,834
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Has your replacement cloth cord got wire loops or crimps on the end of the three cores? And are there little cotton anchor loops or cords where the cord is whipped at the ends?
__________________
Regds,

Russell W. B.
G4YLI.
russell_w_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2018, 11:04 pm   #3
angelapantus
Diode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Preston, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 2
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Hi Russel and many thanks for your help. Yes it has wire loops at the end of the three wires.
Regds, Angela
angelapantus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2018, 11:39 pm   #4
rambo1152
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 375
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Once you have removed the base-bell-set off the phone, and the mouthpiece off the handset, it's all pretty much self explanatory, or is it one or both of the above that is the difficulty?
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2018, 11:48 pm   #5
ThePillenwerfer
Octode
 
ThePillenwerfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,021
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Have a look at this: http://www.samhallas.co.uk/collection/bits_162.htm. The only difference is that your will have the bell sandwiched between the base and the telephone itself.
__________________
"Experts are only good at one thing: explaining why something will not work!"
ThePillenwerfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2018, 9:06 am   #6
russell_w_b
Nonode
 
russell_w_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Penrith, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 2,834
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Am I correct in thinking the screws securing the bellset to the base of the instrument have heads on them that require a special tool, or was I dreaming this?
__________________
Regds,

Russell W. B.
G4YLI.
russell_w_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2018, 9:15 am   #7
Dave Moll
Dekatron
 
Dave Moll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West Cumbria (CA13), UK
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Don't forget that the mouthpiece has a flange inside that may need to be depressed (by pushing a pointed object or small screwdriver into a hole at the side of the cover) before it will turn to release it. I hope I've explained that in an understandable manner!
__________________
Mending is better than Ending (cf Brave New World by Aldous Huxley)
Dave Moll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2018, 6:31 pm   #8
BigClick
Hexode
 
BigClick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Walsall, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 274
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by russell_w_b View Post
Am I correct in thinking the screws securing the bellset to the base of the instrument have heads on them that require a special tool, or was I dreaming this?
As far as I recall a flat blade screwdriver will turn them. Intrument No2?
BigClick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2018, 7:04 pm   #9
Pellseinydd
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Flintshire, UK.
Posts: 319
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

The special tool is a 'Ringdriver No 5' - like a screwdriver but with a 'pin' that sticks out from centre of the blade to locate in the screwhole in the special screw used to hold the bellset into the base of the telephone.

A No 2 is a bit narrow, a No 3 or 6 with a wider blade would be better. But a doubt Angela knows what we are going on about - a wide blade screwdriver should undo the screws no problem

Ian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RingdriverNo5.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	155382  
Pellseinydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2018, 7:33 pm   #10
russell_w_b
Nonode
 
russell_w_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Penrith, Cumbria, UK.
Posts: 2,834
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

This is what I was on about - and I guess not all instruments are fitted with it; I don't think it would be a problem to get access to the instrument above the bellset anyway. I was only half-dreaming!

http://www.britishtelephones.com/pyramidandbell.htm
__________________
Regds,

Russell W. B.
G4YLI.
russell_w_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Jan 2018, 10:37 pm   #11
Oldcodger
Heptode
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 999
Default Re: Replacing handset cord on 200 series GPO king pyramid bakelite telephone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Moll View Post
Don't forget that the mouthpiece has a flange inside that may need to be depressed (by pushing a pointed object or small screwdriver into a hole at the side of the cover) before it will turn to release it. I hope I've explained that in an understandable manner!
To those of us that's worked on 200/300 types, that is enough. To the layman- on the mouthpiece, there is a small hole into which something like a large jewellers screwdriver can be inserted. This will depress the flange inside the mouthpiece to allow mouthpiece to be turned.
Oldcodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:57 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.